Yeah, I Made it Myself: DIY Fashion for the not very domestic goddess

2.33 avg rating
( 3 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781780226255: Yeah, I Made it Myself: DIY Fashion for the not very domestic goddess
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A beautifully designed, fun, unintimidating and inspirational tour around the world of home-sewing, and generally messing around with bits of material. Perfect for fans of THE GREAT BRITISH SEWING BEE.

YEAH, I MADE IT MYSELF is all about DIY fashion, aimed at women who are passionate about clothes, and would love to create something of their own, but who are unsure of how to get started. Farry isn't a fashion designer, or professional seamstress, but she can cobble together a DIY summer wardrobe faster than you can say pearl-two. She's made most of her own clothes for years, to much acclaim. When people learn that she makes her own clothes they say, 'I wish I could do that.' And her immediate response is, 'You easily could, I could teach you in a few hours.'

For a few months, when she was a contributing editor at ELLE, she ran a featurette that showed how to make key catwalk accessories using stuff bought from the local haberdashery. The feature was very popular - the basic premise being 'If I can do it, anyone can.'

The ideas are accessible and adaptable - it's all about creating an individual look, experimenting with ideas and laughing if it all goes a bit lopsided. Innovative, young designers provide insider tips. There are also inspirational, crafty tales from friends who've come up with their own easy-to-make designs, despite not having a fashion degree. YEAH, I MADE IT MYSELF is practical, with pom-poms.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

She'll have you running up a new summer wardrobe from the most unlikely sources: dresses out of your mum's old curtains - well bold prints are in, after all - simple skirts and A-line masterpieces, as well as holding your hand through party-piece techniques such as sewing darts and seams - much easier than it looks. It's simple, practical Girl Guide stuff, but the results couldn't look more vintage if they tried and are the ultimate in exclusivity. (GLAMOUR (June 2006))

It's laid out as a sequence of projects, in which Farry demonstrates a real, rare gift for clear instructions; converting finger action into bullet-pointed prose is not easy. She gives sound advice on the minimum basic kit required...an excellent checklist to diagnose what caused which mechanical snarl-up, with the fine motto DO NOT FEAR THE SEWING MACHINE. She has a fab eye for a remnant, to judge from the shirt print on page 16, and her list of style icons is indeed stylish. (Vera Rule THE INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY (21.5.06))

The tone of the book is all fun and girly froth...the instructions are clear,and the optimism that you really will be able to knock up your own dress is boundless. (TIME OUT (24-31 May 2006))

Packed with easy-to-make patterns for everything from a stylish bag to a slinky evening frock, Yeah I Made it Myself, is perfect if you've always wanted to make your own clothes but weren't sure where to start. A delightful and inspiring book. (IMAGE MAGAZINE (June '06))

This bright, funny manual for making and customising your own clothes is an excellent starter guide for aspiring home fashionistas, especially those on a budget. (SAINSBURY'S MAGAZINE (July 2006))

a great reminder that sewing should above all else be about fun, fashion and wanting to be an individual. Eithne's fresh, relaxed approach is based on starting with a funky fabric, a simple project, some very basic equipment, and learning new skills as and when needed... Eithne's hilarious adventures along the way make this entertaining reading, and her contagious enthusiasm is sufficient to encourage even the most reticent seamstress to give it a go! (SEWING WORLD (August))

With retro charm, this book is a must for anyone passionate about clothes. The ideas are accessible and adaptable, with top tips for everything from sourcing material to alternatives to hemming. (TONIC MAGAZINE (1.10.06) ****)

Book Description:

A beautifully designed, fun, unintimidating and inspirational tour around the world of home-sewing, and generally messing around with bits of material. Perfect for fans of THE GREAT BRITISH SEWING BEE.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780297851172: Yeah, I Made it Myself: DIY Fashion for the not very domestic goddess

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0297851179 ISBN 13:  9780297851172
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson, 2006
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Farry, Eithne
Published by W&N (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N, 2014. Condition: New. A beautifully designed, fun, unintimidating and inspirational tour around the world of home-sewing, and generally messing around with bits of material. Perfect for fans of THE GREAT BRITISH SEWING BEE. Num Pages: 224 pages, illustrations. BIC Classification: WJF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 191 x 190 x 16. Weight in Grams: 548. 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # 9781780226255

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Farry, Eithne
Published by Phoenix
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 178022625X Ships promptly from Texas. Seller Inventory # Z178022625XZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Farry, Eithne
Published by W&N
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N. Condition: New. A beautifully designed, fun, unintimidating and inspirational tour around the world of home-sewing, and generally messing around with bits of material. Perfect for fans of THE GREAT BRITISH SEWING BEE. Num Pages: 224 pages, illustrations. BIC Classification: WJF. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 191 x 190 x 16. Weight in Grams: 548. 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # 9781780226255

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Eithne Farry
Published by Phoenix (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M178022625X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Farry, Eithne
Published by Phoenix (2014)
ISBN 10: 178022625X ISBN 13: 9781780226255
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2014. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P11178022625X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
33.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds