Julian Fellowes Snobs: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781780224411

Snobs: A Novel

3.41 avg rating
( 6,922 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781780224411: Snobs: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

'Fellowes doesn't try to hide his love of the funny, sealed, above-stairs world of dukes, duchesses, marquesses, nursery maids, herbaceous borders and breakfast kedgeree, all of which makes SNOBS such a a good, fresh read' Daily Telegraph

Edith Lavery is a woman on the make. The attractive only child of a middle-class accountant, she leaves behind her dull job in a Chelsea estate agents and manages to bag one of the most eligible bachelors of the day - Charles Broughton, heir to the Marquess of Uckfield.

But is life amongst the upper echelons of 'good' society all that it seems? Edith soon discovers there's much more to the aristocracy than dancing in Anabel's, shooting small birds and understanding which fork to use at dinner. And then there is Charles's mother, the indomitable Lady Uckfield, or 'Googie' to her friends, who is none too pleased with her son's choice of breeding partner. With twists and turns aplenty, this is a comical tale worthy of a contemporary Jane Austen.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Like a visit of an English country estate: breezy, beautiful, and charming." - "The""New York Times Book Review" "[A] guilty pleasure of a novel [that] seems authentic down to the wallpaper and the Wellingtons. Hilarious sharp, entertaining, and unforgiving."- Anna Quindlen ""Snobs," by Julian Fellowes, is an hilariously snobbish novel about hilariously snobbish people involved in a society scandal. Froth at its best. His writing is as stylish as his story. Mr. Fellowes knows his turf well."- Dominick Dunne"I couldn't put "Snobs" down: Who could resist a great story of a beautiful, ambitious girl on her climb to the turreted top of the castle-hopping set? As witty as he is smart, Julian Fellowes is the Oscar-winning, Oscar Wilde of the minute." - Plum Sykes "Julian Fellowes's witty, wise depiction of the lives and lunacies of upper-class English life is just my cup of tea...."- Jane Stanton Hitchcock ""Snobs" is everything you would hope for from the writer of "Gosford Park." A delicious thoroughbred delight, a guilty treat that is awake to every maddening and appallingly attractive nuance of English social life. The novel somehow contrives to be moral without being preachy or losing for a minute its gracefully shameless delight in the well bred and their satellites. A kind of Louis Auchincloss for our times, Julian Fellowes has written a book that is destined to grace all the bedside tables of all the better houses in the land."- Stephen Fry "This is the kind of book Edith Wharton would have written if she were around today."- Arnold Scaasi ""Snobs" is an insightful, funny satire of English upper-crust country life in the tradition of Mitford or Waugh....The best chick-lit book of the season was written by a man."- "The Globe and Mail" "Sparklingly rompish...As long as this world does still exist, Fellowes is a delectable guide to its absurdities."- "Sunday Times" (London) "Illu

Book Description:

From the award-winning creator of DOWNTON ABBEY and Oscar-winning writer of GOSFORD PARK, a reissue of the superb Sunday Times bestselling novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Fellowes, Julian
Published by Phoenix (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2012. Condition: Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP69335970

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
0.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.36
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Julian Fellowes
Published by -
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
AwesomeBooks
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description -. Paperback. Condition: Very Good. Snobs: A Novel This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. Seller Inventory # 7719-9781780224411

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Julian Fellowes
Published by Phoenix 10/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Fun_Meister
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix 10/05/2012, 2012. Condition: Good. Will be shipped promptly from UK warehouse. Book is in good condition with no missing pages, no damage or soiling and tight spine. There may be some dog-eared pages showing previous use but overall a great book. Seller Inventory # 9053-9781780224411

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Fellowes, Lord Julian
Published by Phoenix (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Brit Books
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. Seller Inventory # 1342718

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.70
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lord Julian Fellowes
Published by Phoenix (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix, 2012. Paperback. Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Seller Inventory # mon0002150156

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.74
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Fellowes, Julian
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: very good. 240 Gramm. Seller Inventory # M01780224419-V

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
2.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.04
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Julian Fellowes
Published by Phoenix 10/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix 10/05/2012, 2012. Condition: Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Seller Inventory # 2341-9781780224411

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
9.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Julian Fellowes
Published by Phoenix 10/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bahamut Media
(Reading, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix 10/05/2012, 2012. Condition: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Seller Inventory # 6545-9781780224411

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
9.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Julian Fellowes
Published by Phoenix 10/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix 10/05/2012, 2012. Condition: Good. Shipped promptly within 24hours. Book is in good condition - 100% money back guarantee if customers are not satisfied. Seller Inventory # 8765-9781780224411

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
9.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Julian Fellowes
Published by Phoenix 10/05/2012 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1780224419 ISBN 13: 9781780224411
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Phoenix 10/05/2012, 2012. Condition: Very Good. Shipped promptly within 24hours. Book is in very good condition - 100% money back guarantee if customers are not satisfied. Seller Inventory # 3426-9781780224411

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
9.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book