Items related to The Psychology of Time Travel

The Psychology of Time Travel

3.73 avg rating
( 9,891 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781683319443: The Psychology of Time Travel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"Astonishing."--The New York Times
"A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person." --HelloGiggles
"This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups."--Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world's first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project--and future of time travel--in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team--erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women's fiction alike.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for The Psychology of Time Travel

"An equally astonishing debut, simultaneously a science fiction novel, historical drama, locked-room murder mystery and magnificent meditation on how human beings experience and adapt to mortality."
--The New York Times

"A genre-breaking book combining time travel, science fiction, a 'locked room' mystery, with touches of romance...[and] female characters who are competent [and] capable."
--Midwest Book Review

"Mascarenhas is fully aware of the rich history of the genre, and to this end, she provides the reader with a puzzle box plot, a whodun-nit told out of chronological order...The Psychology of Time Travel is a surprising novel not because of its temporal shenanigans--as entertaining as they are--but because it goes beyond those familiar hijinks and explores the human cost of a non-linear existence."
--Locus Magazine

"A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person."
--HelloGiggles

"This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups...A tightly plotted novel about the potential hazards of time travel on a person's sense of self, not to mention world events."
--Refinery29

"A fun and twisty read."
--MindBodyGreen

"[A] superb debut novel...The Psychology of Time Travel heralds the arrival of a master storyteller."
--BookPage

"Intricately plotted...The story unfolds in a captivating way, and fascinating suggestions are made about the effects of time travel."
--Publisher's Weekly

"With plenty of twists and turns, The Psychology of Time Travel is a provocative thought experiment."
--Foreword Reviews

"A dazzling genre-defying debut...witty, inventive and unflashily wise about human hearts; Mascarenhas's future promises to be an exciting one."
--The Guardian

"Mascarenhas' writing is clear and strong, making this a good choice for readers who want to be immersed in a story."
--Booklist

"The narrative moves back and forth through time with its almost all-female cast meeting their future and past selves in an intriguing, multi-layered mystery that is ingeniously plotted."
--The Daily Mail

"[A] compelling, confident debut...wrapping the psychological exploration around a diverse, real set of characters and a thrilling murder mystery."
--SFX Magazine, 4 1/2 stars

"A surprising, mysterious, and sometimes unsettling novel, threaded with off-kilter ideas and wonderful insights."
--Elan Mastai, author of All Our Wrong Todays

"An elegant braid of a narrative, delivering queer joy and time-traveling women...Fans of Jo Walton will feel very much at home in this gorgeous, nested tale."
--Meg Elison, author of The Book of the Unnamed Midwife

"The Psychology of Time Travel is the most imaginative thriller I've read in ages: captivating, delightful, and thoroughly original. Ms. Mascarenhas' genius is in patiently exploring the small, fascinating details of a world in which time travel is possible...an all-around wonderful novel."
--Jennie Melamed, author of Gather the Daughters

"Kate Mascarenhas deftly weaves an innovative tale with The Psychology of Time Travel--part mystery; part time travel. Entirely entertaining!"
--Julie McElwain, author of A Murder In Time

About the Author:

Kate Mascarenhas is a half-Irish, half-Seychellois midlander. Since 2017, Kate has been a chartered psychologist. Before that she worked as a copywriter, a dollhouse maker, and a bookbinder. She lives with her husband in a small terraced house which she is slowly filling with Sindy dolls. This is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781788540124: The Psychology of Time Travel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1788540123 ISBN 13: 9781788540124
Publisher: Head of Zeus, 2019
Softcover

9781788540100: The Psychology of Time Travel

Head o..., 2018
Hardcover

9781788540117: The Psychology of Time Travel

Head o..., 2018
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Mascarenhas, Kate
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2019)
ISBN 10: 1683319443 ISBN 13: 9781683319443
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1683319443-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Mascarenhas, Kate
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2019)
ISBN 10: 1683319443 ISBN 13: 9781683319443
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX1683319443

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Kate Mascarenhas
Published by CROOKED LANE BOOKS, United States (2019)
ISBN 10: 1683319443 ISBN 13: 9781683319443
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Astonishing.--The New York TimesA fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person. --HelloGigglesThis genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who, dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups.--Refinery29 Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel, a mind-bending, time-travel debut. In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world's first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project--and future of time travel--in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team--erasing her contributions from history. Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped? Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women's fiction alike. Seller Inventory # FLT9781683319443

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
20.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Mascarenhas, Kate
Published by Crooked Lane Books (2019)
ISBN 10: 1683319443 ISBN 13: 9781683319443
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think_cr2_1683319443

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
28.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.89
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds