Moore; Alan Voice of the Fire

ISBN 13: 9781603090353

Voice of the Fire

3.94 avg rating
( 1,623 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781603090353: Voice of the Fire
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In a story full of lust, madness, and ecstasy, we meet twelve distinctive characters that lived in the same region of central England over the span of six thousand years. Their narratives are woven together in patterns of recurring events, strange traditions, and uncanny visions. First, a cave-boy loses his mother, falls in love, and learns a deadly lesson. He is followed by an extraordinary cast of characters: a murderess who impersonates her victim, a fisherman who believes he has become a different species, a Roman emissary who realizes the bitter truth about the Empire, a crippled nun who is healed miraculously by a disturbing apparition, an old crusader whose faith is destroyed by witnessing the ultimate relic, two witches, lovers, who burn at the stake. Each interconnected tale traces a path in a journey of discovery of the secrets of the land. In the tradition of Kipling's Puck of Pook's Hill, Schwob's Imaginary Lives, and Borges' A Universal History of Infamy, Alan Moore (Watchmen, From Hell, Lost Girls) travels through history blending truth and conjecture, in a novel that is dazzling, moving, sometimes tragic, but always mesmerizing. Now available in paperback for the first time in America! With an Introduction by Neil Gaiman, a signature of full-color plates by Jose Villarrubia, and a cover design by Chip Kidd.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Alan Moore is widely regarded as the best and most influential writer in the history of comics. His seminal works include Miracleman and Watchmen, for which he won the coveted Hugo Award. Never one to limit himself in form or content, Moore has also published novels, Voice of the Fire and Jerusalem, and an epic poem, The Mirror of Love. Four of his ground-breaking graphic novels--From Hell, Watchmen, V for Vendetta, and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen--have been adapted to the silver screen. Moore currently resides in Northampton, England.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781891830440: Voice Of The Fire

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1891830449 ISBN 13:  9781891830440
Publisher: Top Shelf Productions, 2004
Hardcover

9781596067622: Voice of the fire

Hardcover

9780575052499: Voice of the Fire

Gollancz, 1996
Softcover

9780575400559: Voice Of The Fire

Phoenix, 1997
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Moore, Alan
Published by Top Shelf Productions (2009)
ISBN 10: 1603090355 ISBN 13: 9781603090353
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Top Shelf Productions, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P111603090355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
72.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Moore, Alan
Published by Top Shelf Productions (2009)
ISBN 10: 1603090355 ISBN 13: 9781603090353
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Top Shelf Productions, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB1603090355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
73.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Moore; Alan
ISBN 10: 1603090355 ISBN 13: 9781603090353
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # S-1603090355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
73.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Moore; Alan
ISBN 10: 1603090355 ISBN 13: 9781603090353
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Looks like an interesting title!. Seller Inventory # M-1603090355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
76.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds