Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

3.97 avg rating
( 18,057 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781599903286: Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow

A spirited retelling, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Donna Jo Napoli.

When a great white bear promises untold riches to her family, the Lass agrees to go away with him. But the bear is not what he seems, nor is his castle. To unravel the mystery, the Lass sets out on a windswept journey beyond the edge of the world. Based on the Nordic legend East of the Sun, West of the Moon, with romantic echoes of Beauty and the Beast, this re-imagined story will leave fans of fantasy and fairy tale enchanted by Jessica Day George.

A Teen Top Ten

"A vivid, well-crafted, poetic fantasy for readers . . . who are ready to move from Gail Carson Levine to more sophisticated fare." ―Booklist

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jessica Day George is the author of Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow, Dragon Slippers, and its sequel, Dragon Flight. Originally from Idaho, she studied at Brigham Young University and lived in Delaware and New Jersey before settling down in Salt Lake City, Utah. She had been a movie store clerk, librarian, bookseller, and school office lady before she got her big break. Jessica lives with her husband, their young son, and a five-pound Maltese named Pippin in a house that needs to be vacuumed much too often.
www.JessicaDayGeorge.com
www.dragonslippers.net

From Booklist:

Unnamed and rejected by her mother, a girl (known as the lass) jumps at the chance to leave her meager home after a great white bear offers her a deal: if she accompanies him to his ice palace for a year and a day, he will reward her and her family with wealth. At the palace, she is waited on by an odd assortment of creatures, including salamanders and a selkie, but there are sinister undercurrents beneath the luxury, leading to a series of horrifying deaths. George has adapted Norse myths and fairy tales to create this eerily beautiful, often terrifying world in which animals talk, trolls marry humans only to destroy them, and weather forces are actual characters. Mystery, adventure, the supernatural, and a touch of love are woven together to create a vivid, well-crafted, poetic fantasy for readers who have enjoyed works by Robin McKinley and Esther Friesner or who are ready to move from Gail Carson Levine’s fairy-tale adaptations to more sophisticated fare. Grades 7-10. --Frances Bradburn

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jessica Day George
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2009)
ISBN 10: 1599903288 ISBN 13: 9781599903286
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX1599903288

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

George, Jessica Day
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2008)
ISBN 10: 1599903288 ISBN 13: 9781599903286
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P111599903288

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
24.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jessica Day George
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens (2008)
ISBN 10: 1599903288 ISBN 13: 9781599903286
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M1599903288

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
28.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

George, Jessica Day
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN 10: 1599903288 ISBN 13: 9781599903286
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury USA Childrens. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1599903288 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW7.0733524

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
46.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds