Items related to In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International...

In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize

3.88 avg rating
( 2,801 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781472250209: In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or THIS IS ENGLAND.

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'A swaggering yet tender and polyphonic debut which capture the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' Observer

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Guy Gunaratne throws words against the wall and makes us watch them bounce. You feel the heat, reel from the sound, and bump to the unstoppable pulse. A novel so of this moment that you don't even realize you've waited your whole life for it. (Marlon James, author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF SEVEN KILLINGS)

Gunaratne has a gift for inhabiting the lives of his characters, and has used that gift here to give life to Londoners who are not often seen in contemporary fiction... a very fine novel (Jon McGregor New York Times)

Utterly alive. Joyous in its language (James Wood New Yorker)

A beautiful, fierce storm of a book, full of courage and hope (Jackie Morris, author of The Lost Words)

What a voice. What an ear for language. No mean feat to capture the street, the nuance of black experience, the architecture of so many different lives. It's a brave and original piece of work (Kit de Waal, author of THE TRICK TO TIME)

A riotous hymn to urban life... passionate, compelling (Guardian)

This is cracking. Original, honest voices and a vivid portrayal of a London rarely seen in literature (Paula Hawkins)

A vivid and affecting account of estate life, both blighted by frustration and elevated by dreams we can all recognise and share. Guy's characters are drawn with compassion and flair, and I was captivated by their humanity (Stephen Kelman, author of PIGEON ENGLISH)

A timely read, addressing the urgent questions of our divided society. We're sure Guy is set for big things (Metro)

Gritty, grotesque; graceful and beautiful. This is the London that we call home (J J Bola)

Book Description:

IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY follows three young men on a London council estate over 48 hours when suddenly everything is at stake

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781472250193: In Our Mad and Furious City: Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1472250192 ISBN 13: 9781472250193
Publisher: Tinder Press, 2018
Hardcover

9781472250216: In Our Mad and Furious City: Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize

Tinder..., 2019
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Gunaratne, Guy
Published by Tinder Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 1472250206 ISBN 13: 9781472250209
New Softcover Quantity: 2
Seller:

Book Description Condition: New. 2018. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9781472250209

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
18.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.01
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Gunaratne, Guy
Published by Tinder Press (2018)
ISBN 10: 1472250206 ISBN 13: 9781472250209
New Softcover Quantity: 2
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. 2018. Paperback. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9781472250209

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
21.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.71
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Guy Gunaratne, Guy Gunaratne, Guy Gunaratne
Published by HACHETTE (2018)
ISBN 10: 1472250206 ISBN 13: 9781472250209
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
dsmbooks
(Liverpool, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. New. book. Seller Inventory # D7S5-8-M-1472250206-5

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
23.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds