Items related to The Other Mrs Walker

Paulson-Ellis, Mary The Other Mrs Walker ISBN 13: 9781447293910

The Other Mrs Walker - Softcover

 
9781447293910: The Other Mrs Walker
View all copies of this ISBN edition
 
 

The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

In a freezing, desolate Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: an emerald dress, a brazil nut engraved with the ten commandments - and six orange pips sucked dry.

Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny arrives back at her old family home, escaping a life in London recently turned to ash. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret soon finds herself employed by the Office for Lost People, tasked with finding the families of the dead: the neglected, the abandoned, the lost. Her instructions are to uncover paperwork, yet the only thing Mrs Walker, the old woman in her current case, left behind is a series of peculiar objects.

But in the end it is these objects that will unravel Mrs Walker's real story: a story rooted in the London grime and moving from the 1930s to the present day, a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of deception and thievery, family secrets and the very deepest of betrayals; in which the extraordinary circular nature of life will glitter from the page. For in uncovering the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret will finally discover her own story too . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
The beauty of this book is in the writing style and delicate plot . . . It reminded me of Kate Atkinson, particularly her Jackson Brodie novels - part mystery, part family drama and lots of just brilliant observation . . . Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended (Nudge)

An impressive debut . . . Flinted with shards of black humour, The Other Mrs Walker is refreshingly inventive crime fiction as Margaret gradually uncovers the truth "of children born and died. Of madwomen dragged out into the street. Of a mother who had tried in her own way to keep her daughter safe." (Irish Times)

This compelling story, set from 1921 to 2011, reveals the secrets of a group of women whose pasts are strangely connected. (Mail on Sunday)

Paulson-Ellis has been compared to Kate Atkinson for her time-shifting debut, a structure which, it has to be said, is handled impressively well here . . . She captures the greyness of an Edinburgh winter superbly well; she portrays the desperation and colourlessness of pre and post-war London even better . . . One of the strongest debuts of the year (Glasgow Herald)

A wonderful, inventive debut with an intricate and intriguing structure, characters that fascinate and a beady authorial eye for detail. I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next. (Fanny Blake Daily Mail)

Intriguing and atmospheric (Guardian)
Book Description:
A beguiling debut novel for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherMantle
  • Publication date2016
  • ISBN 10 1447293916
  • ISBN 13 9781447293910
  • BindingPaperback
  • Number of pages448
  • Rating

Shipping: £ 12.63
From Spain to United Kingdom

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Encuadernación de tapa blanda

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Libreria Cao, Pontevedra, PONTE, Spain

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Encuadernación de tapa blanda. Condition: Nuevo. Seller Inventory # ABE-1718269944306

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 10.40
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 12.63
From Spain to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, London, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293916 ISBN 13: 9781447293910
New Trade Paperback First Edition

Quantity: 3 available

Seller: Manyhills Books, Traralgon, VIC, Australia

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Trade Paperback. Condition: New. First Edition. Trade Paperback. 427 pages. *** PUBLISHING DETAILS: Mantle, London, 2016. First Edition. *** CONDITION: This book is in new condition. More specifically: Covers have no creasing or wear. Spine is uncreased. . Pages are clean and unmarked and in excellent condition. *** ABOUT THIS BOOK: Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . . In a freezing Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: a photograph, an emerald dress - and a Brazil nut with the Ten Commandments etched in its shell. Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny escapes the disaster of her life in London and returns reluctantly to her childhood home. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret finds herself a job tracking down the families of those who have died neglected and alone. Her instructions are to uncover the necessary paperwork, yet the only thing her client, Mrs Walker, left behind is a collection of peculiar objects - objects that reveal a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of thievery and the very deepest of betrayals. Stories that move from the 1930s to the present day, in which the extraordinary circular nature of life glitters from the page. And in attempting to uncover the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret might even discover her own story too . . . *** Quantity Available: 3. Category: Fiction; General; ISBN/EAN: 9781447293910. Inventory No: 20050063. Seller Inventory # 20050063

Contact seller

Buy New

£ 11.73
Convert currency
Shipping: £ 18.53
From Australia to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket