Items related to The Other Mrs Walker

Paulson-Ellis, Mary The Other Mrs Walker ISBN 13: 9781447293903

The Other Mrs Walker - Hardcover

 
9781447293903: The Other Mrs Walker
View all copies of this ISBN edition
 
 

The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters.

Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . .

In a freezing, desolate Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: an emerald dress, a brazil nut engraved with the ten commandments - and six orange pips sucked dry.

Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny arrives back at her old family home, escaping a life in London recently turned to ash. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret soon finds herself employed by the Office for Lost People, tasked with finding the families of the dead: the neglected, the abandoned, the lost. Her instructions are to uncover paperwork, yet the only thing Mrs Walker, the old woman in her current case, left behind is a series of peculiar objects.

But in the end it is these objects that will unravel Mrs Walker's real story: a story rooted in the London grime and moving from the 1930s to the present day, a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of deception and thievery, family secrets and the very deepest of betrayals; in which the extraordinary circular nature of life will glitter from the page. For in uncovering the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret will finally discover her own story too . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:
The beauty of this book is in the writing style and delicate plot . . . It reminded me of Kate Atkinson, particularly her Jackson Brodie novels - part mystery, part family drama and lots of just brilliant observation . . . Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended, Nudge

An impressive debut . . . Flinted with shards of black humour, The Other Mrs Walker is refreshingly inventive crime fiction as Margaret gradually uncovers the truth "of children born and died. Of madwomen dragged out into the street. Of a mother who had tried in her own way to keep her daughter safe.", Irish Times

This compelling story, set from 1921 to 2011, reveals the secrets of a group of women whose pasts are strangely connected., Mail on Sunday

Paulson-Ellis has been compared to Kate Atkinson for her time-shifting debut, a structure which, it has to be said, is handled impressively well here . . . She captures the greyness of an Edinburgh winter superbly well; she portrays the desperation and colourlessness of pre and post-war London even better . . . One of the strongest debuts of the year, Glasgow Herald

A wonderful, inventive debut with an intricate and intriguing structure, characters that fascinate and a beady authorial eye for detail. I can't wait to see what this author has up her sleeve next. -- Fanny Blake, Daily Mail

Intriguing and atmospheric, Guardian
Book Description:
A beguiling debut novel for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

  • PublisherMantle
  • Publication date2016
  • ISBN 10 1447293908
  • ISBN 13 9781447293903
  • BindingHardcover
  • Number of pages448
  • Rating

Buy Used

Condition: Very Good
This book is in very good condition... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Mantle 10/03/2016, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 2 available

Seller: AwesomeBooks, Wallingford, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: Very Good. This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. . Seller Inventory # 7719-9781447293903

Contact seller

Buy Used

3.36
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Mary Paulson-Ellis
Published by Mantle 10/03/2016, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 2 available

Seller: Bahamut Media, Reading, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 4-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: Very Good. Shipped within 24 hours from our UK warehouse. Clean, undamaged book with no damage to pages and minimal wear to the cover. Spine still tight, in very good condition. Remember if you are not happy, you are covered by our 100% money back guarantee. Seller Inventory # 6545-9781447293903

Contact seller

Buy Used

3.36
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Pan Macmillan, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 3 available

Seller: Better World Books Ltd, Dunfermline, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: Good. Main Market Ed. Ships from the UK. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages. Seller Inventory # GRP96773011

Contact seller

Buy Used

3.39
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Greener Books, London, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Hardcover. Condition: Used; Very Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence! Greener Books. Seller Inventory # 2751334

Contact seller

Buy Used

3.42
Convert currency
Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: WeBuyBooks, Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: Good. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. A tan to the page edges/pages. Seller Inventory # wbb0021549555

Contact seller

Buy Used

1.25
Convert currency
Shipping: 2.20
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Seller Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: WeBuyBooks, Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: VeryGood. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Ex library copy with usual stamps & stickers. Seller Inventory # wbb0022961227

Contact seller

Buy Used

1.25
Convert currency
Shipping: 2.20
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: Stephen White Books, Bradford, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex library book, usual markings. Hardback with dust cover. Clean copy. Quick dispatch from UK seller. Seller Inventory # mon0000208853

Contact seller

Buy Used

1
Convert currency
Shipping: 3.35
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Paperback

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: WorldofBooks, Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Paperback. Condition: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Seller Inventory # GOR013260820

Contact seller

Buy Used

2.16
Convert currency
Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Mary Paulson-Ellis
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Paperback

Quantity: 9 available

Seller: WorldofBooks, Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Paperback. Condition: Very Good. The Other Mrs Walker is the beguiling debut from Mary Paulson-Ellis, for fans of Kate Atkinson and Sarah Waters. Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . . In a freezing, desolate Edinburgh flat an old woman takes her last breath surrounded by the few objects she has accrued over a lifetime: an emerald dress, a brazil nut engraved with the ten commandments - and six orange pips sucked dry. Meanwhile, guided by the flip of a coin, Margaret Penny arrives back at her old family home, escaping a life in London recently turned to ash. Faced with relying on a resentful mother she has never really known, Margaret soon finds herself employed by the Office for Lost People, tasked with finding the families of the dead: the neglected, the abandoned, the lost. Her instructions are to uncover paperwork, yet the only thing Mrs Walker, the old woman in her current case, left behind is a series of peculiar objects. But in the end it is these objects that will unravel Mrs Walker's real story: a story rooted in the London grime and moving from the 1930s to the present day, a story of children abandoned and lost, of beguiling sisters and misplaced mothers, of deception and thievery, family secrets and the very deepest of betrayals; in which the extraordinary circular nature of life will glitter from the page. For in uncovering the astonishing tale of an old woman who died alone, Margaret will finally discover her own story too . . . The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR007348404

Contact seller

Buy Used

4.30
Convert currency
Shipping: 2.80
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

Stock Image

Paulson-Ellis, Mary
Published by Mantle, 2016
ISBN 10: 1447293908 ISBN 13: 9781447293903
Used Hardcover

Quantity: 1 available

Seller: GF Books, Inc., Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.

Seller Rating: 5-star rating, Learn more about seller ratings

Condition: Very Good. Book is in Used-VeryGood condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain very limited notes and highlighting. 1.32. Seller Inventory # 1447293908-2-3

Contact seller

Buy Used

8.17
Convert currency
Shipping: 9.27
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

Add to basket

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book