Items related to Burial Rites

Hannah Kent Burial Rites

ISBN 13: 9781447233169

Burial Rites

4 avg rating
( 101,129 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781447233169: Burial Rites
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2013 GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK AWARD.

In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnúsdóttir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover.

Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jón Jónsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Tóti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes’s spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes’s story begins to emerge and with it the family’s terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed.

Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we’re told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland’s formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent Signed First Edition

Review:

'A story of swirling sagas, poetry, bitterness, claustrophobia . . . through the long countdown towards Agnes's fate, it is Kent's heart-racing imagery that lingers . . . even the bleakness of Agnes's end, its gut-churning fear, holds an exhilaration that borders on the sublime.' Sunday Telegraph

‘A remarkable achievement . . . Burial Rites will stand comparison with Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace and Peter Carey’s True History of the Kelly Gang.Sunday Times

'This is a golden age both of historical fiction and of crime writing. A rare novel that combines both, this is one of the most gripping, intriguing and unique books I’ve read this year. Set in the harsh landscape of Iceland in the 19th century, it is a novel that bristles with beautiful description, that lays bare the harshness of women’s lives of the period and considers the nature of justice.' Kate Mosse

‘Gorgeous and haunting, Burial Rites will touch your heart.’ Charlotte Rogan, author of The Lifeboat

'So gripping I wanted to rush through the pages, but so beautifully written I wanted to linger over every sentence. Hannah Kent's debut novel is outstanding.' Madeline Miller, Orange Prize-winning author of The Song of Achilles

'The debut that everyone's talking about' Guardian

‘All this research has paid off in spades: the end result is a novel so steeped in period detail that the extracts lifted from original sources sit eloquently alongside the fictionalised account, the transition between the two being effortlessly smooth . . . Burial Rites is a debut of rare sophistication and beauty – a simple but moving story, meticulously researched and hauntingly told.’ Observer

'Startlingly vivid . . . This is a tormented tale of love and betrayal and divided loyalties recounted with heartfelt honesty . . . An exceptional debut.' Sunday Express

‘Hannah's rendering of Agnes Magnúsdóttir is as vivid and authentic as Mailer's Gary Gilmore, but done with greater economy and aplomb. She has resurrected her heroine with grace and skill; her writing style is innately lyrical and her descriptions are clear and beautifully constructed. Her dialogue is entirely believable, a thing not easily done. Some writers never get it right; Hannah has done it with seeming effortlessness in her first novel. Burial Rites is an amazing book. I was completely engrossed all the way through, and heartbroken at its end.’ Donal Ryan, Man Booker longlisted author of The Spinning Heart

‘Haunting . . . startlingly vivid, a poetic reimagining of a world where “autumn fell upon the valley like a gasp” . . . Kent skilfully ratchets up the sense of antagonism towards Agnes but also builds a recognisable picture of ordinary family life confronting extraordinary events . . . This is a tormented tale of love and betrayal and divided loyalties recounted with heartfelt honesty . . . An exceptional debut.’ Eithne Farry, Sunday Express

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780316243926: Burial Rites

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0316243922 ISBN 13: 9780316243926
Publisher: Back Bay Books, 2014
Softcover

9781447233176: Burial Rites

Picador, 2014
Softcover

9780316243919: Burial Rites

Little..., 2013
Hardcover

9780316239806: Burial Rites

Little..., 2013
Hardcover

9781447235651: Burial Rites

Picador, 2013
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Hannah Kent
Published by Picador (2013)
ISBN 10: 1447233166 ISBN 13: 9781447233169
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Teddington Tombes
(Hereford, HEREF, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. All items are wrapped in bubble wrap and securely packaged. We pride our selves on our customer service with 24/7 customer support . All items are wrapped in bubble wrap and securely packaged. We pride our selves on our customer service with 24/7 customer support . Seller Inventory # mon0000004376

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 19.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Hannah Kent
Published by Picador; First Edition (January 1, 2013) (2013)
ISBN 10: 1447233166 ISBN 13: 9781447233169
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think_cr2_1447233166

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
42.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.92
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

3.

Kent, Hannah
Published by Picador, London,UK (2013)
ISBN 10: 1447233166 ISBN 13: 9781447233169
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity: 1
Seller:
Kelleher Rare Books
(Naas, IE, Ireland)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First UK Edition, First Printing. This is a first edition, first printing (first impression) with a full numberline to the copyright page. The Jacket which is not price clipped is in as new condition as is the book which is clearly unread. The author's first novel. Seller Inventory # 003624

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
35.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 19.28
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Hannah Kent
Published by Picador (2013)
ISBN 10: 1447233166 ISBN 13: 9781447233169
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity: 1
Seller:
Anderida Books
(LEDBURY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. Debut novel by the very talented Hannah Kent. Short listed for the Guardian First Book Award. Signed, first lined (from the prologue) "They said I must die." and publication dated 29th August 2013 by the author to the title page. Scarce with these attributes. The film of this book will be directed by Gary Ross as reported by The Guardian newspaper. A fine hardcover in a like dustwrapper the first edition hardcover features black page edges which have very minor marks due to this finish.***********SHIPPED IN A BOX WITH PLENTY OF PROTECTION. Signed by Author(s). Seller Inventory # 72611

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
120
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds