Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times

3.61 avg rating
( 990 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781442498778: Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

In nineteenth-century England, a boy is about to discover a mysterious mechanical world he may never escape.

Ten-year-old Jack Foster has stepped through a doorway and into quite a different London.

Londinium is a smoky, dark, and dangerous place, home to mischievous metal fairies and fearsome clockwork dragons that breathe scalding steam. The people wear goggles to protect their eyes, brass grill insets in their nostrils to filter air, or mechanical limbs to replace missing ones.

Over it all rules the Lady, and the Lady has demanded a new son--a perfect flesh-and-blood child. She has chosen Jack. His only hope of escape lies with a legendary clockwork bird.

The Gearwing grants wishes--or it did, before it was broken--before it was killed. But some things don't stay dead forever.

Fans of books like Splendors and Glooms and Goblin Secrets will find Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times irresistible!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

[( Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times By Trevayne, Emma ( Author ) Hardcover May - 2014)] Hardcover

Review:

"So full of verve and imagination that the sinister steampunk world practically pops off the page. The prose sparkles, the inventions astonish, and the characters are ones you'll root for from the moment you meet them. Loved it, beginning to end."--Stefan Bachman, author of The Peculiar

"Once action passes through to Londinium the pace picks up and the steampunk narrative starts to hum. Jack's mechanical ability is put to good use, but it is the power of loyalty and friendship that gives the story its strength and drives it to a rousing conclusion."--The Horn Book Magazine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781442498792: Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  144249879X ISBN 13:  9781442498792
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Y..., 2015
Softcover

9781481404808: Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times

New Yo..., 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Trevayne, Emma
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 2014-05-13 (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 2014-05-13, 2014. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition. 1442498773. Seller Inventory # Z1442498773ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Trevayne, Emma
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1442498773. Seller Inventory # Z1442498773ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Trevayne, Emma
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1442498773. Seller Inventory # Z1442498773ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Trevayne, Emma
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1442498773. Seller Inventory # Z1442498773ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.12
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Trevayne, Emma
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1442498773 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI791006

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Emma Trevayne
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Puddle
(New York, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Condition: New. pp. 320. Seller Inventory # 2697342984

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Trevayne Emma
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Condition: New. pp. 320. Seller Inventory # 96135639

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.02
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Emma Trevayne
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2014. Condition: New. Glenn Thomas (illustrator). book. Seller Inventory # M1442498773

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.35
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Emma Trevayne
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (2014)
ISBN 10: 1442498773 ISBN 13: 9781442498778
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2014. Hardcover. Condition: New. First Edition - may be Reissue. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 1442498773n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
76.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds