The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table

3.57 avg rating
( 3,117 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781439171967: The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Title: The American Way of Eating( Undercover at Walmart Applebee's Farm Fields and the Dinner Table) <>Binding: Paperback <>Author: TracieMcMillan <>Publisher: ScribnerBookCompany

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"The genius, genius Tracie McMillan went from growing up eating a lot of processed foods to cultivating an interest in fancier, local cuisine, to even writing for high-end culinary publications including Saveur mag. Her personal journey led her to write this must read, which investigates our food system and what's exactly keeping Americans from eating well, and what we can do to fix it. (Did I mention genius?)" -glamour.com

"Valiant...McMillan's undercover work for The American Way of Eating takes readers on an educational journey."

--San Francisco Chronicle

About the Author:

A working-class transplant from rural Michigan, Brooklyn-based writer Tracie McMillan has written about food and class for a variety of publications including, The New York Times; O, The Oprah Magazine; Harper's Magazine; Saveur; and Slate. After putting herself through New York University, she began reporting and from 2001 to 2005 she was the managing editor of the award-winning magazine City Limits. There, she won recognition from organizations ranging from the James Beard Foundation to World Hunger Year. Follow her at TracieMcMillan.com or @TMMcMillan.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781439171950: The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1439171955 ISBN 13:  9781439171950
Publisher: Scribner Book Company, 2012
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

McMillan, Tracie
Published by Scribner Book Company 2012-01-01 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 19
Seller:
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner Book Company 2012-01-01, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Seller Inventory # 9781439171967B

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
3.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.61
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

McMillan, Tracie
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 1439171963

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.76
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

McMillan, Tracie
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New Quantity Available: 11
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9781439171967

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

McMillan, Tracie
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # KB-9781439171967

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

McMillan, Tracie
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1439171963 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Seller Inventory # NATARAJB1FI770049

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Tracie Mcmillan
Published by Scribner Book Company, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner Book Company, United States, 2012. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. The New York Times bestselling work of undercover journalism in the tradition of Barbara Ehrenreich's Nickel and Dimed that fully investigates our food system to explain what keeps Americans from eating well--and what we can do about it. When award-winning (and working-class) journalist Tracie McMillan saw foodies swooning over $9 organic tomatoes, she couldn't help but wonder: What about the rest of us? Why do working Americans eat the way we do? And what can we do to change it? To find out, McMillan went undercover in three jobs that feed America, living and eating off her wages in each. Reporting from California fields, a Walmart produce aisle outside of Detroit, and the kitchen of a New York City Applebee's, McMillan examines the reality of our country's food industry in this "clear and essential" (The Boston Globe) work of reportage. Chronicling her own experience and that of the Mexican garlic crews, Midwestern produce managers, and Caribbean line cooks with whom she works, McMillan goes beyond the food on her plate to explore the national priorities that put it there. Fearlessly reported and beautifully written, The American Way of Eating goes beyond statistics and culture wars to deliver a book that is fiercely honest, strikingly intelligent, and compulsively readable. In making the simple case that--city or country, rich or poor--everyone wants good food, McMillan guarantees that talking about dinner will never be the same again. Seller Inventory # ABZ9781439171967

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

McMillan, Tracie
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1439171963 Brand New From The Publisher! Not Marked Up Remainders or Shelf Worn Overstocks!. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9781439171967

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.70
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

McMillan, Tracie
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1439171963. Seller Inventory # Z1439171963ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

McMillan, Tracie
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1439171963. Seller Inventory # Z1439171963ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

McMillan, Tracie
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 1439171963 ISBN 13: 9781439171967
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 1439171963. Seller Inventory # Z1439171963ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book