Morton, Kate The House at Riverton

ISBN 13: 9781416550532

The House at Riverton

3.95 avg rating
( 94,040 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781416550532: The House at Riverton
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they--and Grace--know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets--some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Kate Morton's first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters--and an ending--readers won't soon forget.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"This novel will challenge your definitions of friendship, family and, most of all, trust." -- Hallmark Magazine--Hallmark Magazine

"An extraordinary debut...written with a lovely turn of phrase. [Morton] knows how to eke out tantalizing secrets and drama." -- The Sunday Telegraph (UK)--Sunday Telegraph UK

From the Publisher:

Winner of the Richard and Judy Summer Read 2007!

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

1.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

2.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press 3/3/2009 (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Washington Square Press 3/3/2009, 2009. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The House at Riverton. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Kate Morton
Published by SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades. Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline. In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they--and Grace--know the truth. In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever. The novel is full of secrets--some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history. Kate Morton's first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters--and an ending--readers won't soon forget. Seller Inventory # ABZ9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # 1416550534

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Washington Square Press. Condition: New. BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|VCF. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Kate Morton
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. "The House at Riverton" is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. It is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that v.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 473 pages. 0.512. Seller Inventory # 9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Kate Morton
Published by Washington Square Press 2009-03-03, New York (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Washington Square Press 2009-03-03, New York, 2009. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.75
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Morton, Kate
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # BKZN9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Kate Morton
Published by Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(Richmond, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Seller Inventory # DADAX1416550534

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Morton, Kate
Published by Atria Books (2008)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Atria Books, 2008. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9781416550532

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.36
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book