Murder in the Afternoon (Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Hardcover))

3.84 avg rating
( 1,362 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781410468598: Murder in the Afternoon (Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Hardcover))
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" ("Kirkus") combine in "Murder in the Afternoon," an absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

Dead one minute...

Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help.

Alive the next?

When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away?

A sinister disappearing act

It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Prasie for Frances Brody and the Kate Shackleton Mysteries:

"Frances Brody has that indefinable quality of the born storyteller who knows just how much it takes to hold the reader's attention." -"Daily Mail" (UK)

"Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs.... They make excellent heroines." --"Literary Review "

Praise for "Murder in the Afternoon"

"Frances Brody succeeds brilliantly. . . Her post-war world in which making any sort of living is hard grind and where an independent career woman is viewed with hostility is entirely convincing. Kate is a heroine to like and admire. . . Her further adventures are eagerly awaited." --"The Daily Mail"

Praise for "A Medal for Murder"

"Brody again displays her prodigious talent for misdirection, tempered by her fair play with clues that render the possibility that the reader will not be fooled. But don't bet on it.... Steeped in period color, "A Medal for Murder" again showcases a winning heroine and a clever plot, a combination reminiscent of the genre's golden age but one made fresh and gripping by an author who melds murder with mercy." -"Richmond Times-Dispatch"

"Brody's excellent second offers a morally conflicted sleuth, historically detailed flashbacks to the Boer War and a clever mystery indeed." --"Kirkus"

"This lusciously written historical cozy is an excellent addition to the crowded 1920s market, and Brody's second series entry (after "Dying in the Wool") positions her for deserved attention. Her gentle and traditional structure (noteworthy use of flashbacks) pairs nicely with Kerry Greenwood (see review above) and Jacqueline Winspear titles." -"Library Journal"

"The traditional British mystery is alive and well, thanks in part to Frances Brody and her lady detective, Kate Shackleton... Kate is very adept at sizing people up and maximizing the information that she can get from them...I especially liked the number of curves the author threw ine

Book Description:

The third fantastically quirky crime novel featuring amateur sleuth extraordinare Kate Shackleton

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781250037022: Murder in the Afternoon (Kate Shackleton Mysteries (Hardcover))

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1250037026 ISBN 13: 9781250037022
Publisher: Minotaur Books, 2014
Hardcover