Items related to A Place Beyond Courage: 0 (William Marshal)

A Place Beyond Courage: 0 (William Marshal)

4.13 avg rating
( 3,831 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781402271083: A Place Beyond Courage: 0 (William Marshal)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Sometimes Keeping Your Honor Means Breaking Your Word

The early twelfth century is a time for ambitious men to prosper. John FitzGilbert is a man of honor and loyalty, sworn to royal service. When the old king dies, his successor rewards the handsome and ambitious John with castles and lands. But King Stephen has a tenuous hold on both his reign and his barons, and when jealous rivals at court seek to destroy John, he backs a woman's claim to the crown, sacrifices his marriage, and eventually is forced to make a gamble that is perhaps one step too far.

Rich with detail, masterful in its storytelling, A Place Beyond Courage is a tale of impossible gambles and the real meaning of honor.

"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptouous ride."--Daily Telegraph

"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around."--Richard Lee, founder and publisher, Historical Novel Society

"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here."--USA Today

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Elizabeth Chadwick is a master at this period and meticulously researches her material, and presents the story eloquently and passionately." - Burton Book Review

"A Place Beyond Courage is a splendid book, all around: the high quality of writing, the great amount of research and the quick-paced action. At the risk of sounding cliche, there really is never a dull moment in this novel." - Axe for the Frozen Sea

"Chadwick does a fantastic job in this novel, as with all her books, of bringing characters that have been dead for 800 years to life on the page." - A Girl Walks Into a Bookstore

"Immerse your senses in the world created by Chadwick; be intrigued, entertained and enlightened by the deft skill of a master storyteller as she weaves a course through the turbulent years of a battle for the Crown with passion and finesse. For fans of William Marshal and Chadwick's The Greatest Knight and The Scarlet Lion, this is a must-read." - RT Book Reviews

"All I can say is Elizabeth Chadwick, I want more. She is one of my favorite authors. I have been known to buy her books of Amazon UK or ebay to get my hands on them." - Tracy's Nook

"This is a superb read about a lesser known historical figure. The pace never lets up, the author's eye for historical detail and accuracy is immaculate, and in John Marshal, she has fleshed out the character of a truly remarkable man." - Romantic Historical Lovers

"I know that when I want good historical fiction then Chadwick's books are the ones to read. Medieval life comes alive in them." - Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell

""A Place Beyond Courage" will captivate any reader who enjoys not only historical fiction but who also enjoys historical romance, Medieval era, and a visit with men of honor. A must read!" - My Book Addiction Reviews

"Based on real characters and extensive research, Chadwick's imaginative tale will keep readers captive till the final page. " - Publishers Weekly

"Those who love accurate historical fiction, exciting characters, a plot filled with suspense and action, high emotions and surprises, will probably love this book. " - Long and Short Reviews

Book Description:

* A spell-binding historical novel set in the 12th century

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780751539011: A Place Beyond Courage (William Marshal)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0751539015 ISBN 13: 9780751539011
Publisher: Sphere, 2008
Softcover

9781847440518: A Place Beyond Courage (William Marshal)

Sphere, 2007
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

1.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 18754332-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.94
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52YZZZ006NXE_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 531ZZZ008CXD_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ008CSD_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
PublisherOverstocks
(Taunton, MA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 533ZZZ008COP_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ008DC5_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52ZZZZ008COR_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 532ZZZ008CUL_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Chadwick, Elizabeth
Published by Sourcebooks Landmark (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # IR-BN-Q-9781402271083

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Elizabeth Chadwick
Published by Sourcebooks, Inc, United States (2012)
ISBN 10: 1402271085 ISBN 13: 9781402271083
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. THE NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR!The best writer of medieval fiction currently around.--Historical Novels ReviewSometimes Keeping Your Honor Means Breaking Your WordIn England, the Middle Ages are a time for ambitious men to prosper. Before he becomes the father of William Marshal, John FitzGilbert is a man of honor and loyalty, sworn to royal service. When the old king dies, his successor rewards the handsome and ambitious John with castles and lands. But King Stephen has a tenuous hold on his reign over medieval England.In these unstable times, John's loyalty to the British king comes at great cost. So, when jealous rivals at court seek to destroy John, he takes matters into his own hands. He backs a woman's claim to the crown, sacrifices his marriage, and eventually makes a final gamble that is perhaps one step too far.Rich with detail, masterful in its storytelling, A Place Beyond Courage is historical fiction full of impossible choices and the real meaning of honor, perfect for fans of The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory and Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.An incredible prequel to the William Marshal series!More Novels of Elizabeth Chadwick's William Marshal: The Greatest KnightThe Scarlet LionFor the King's FavorTemplar SilksTo Defy a KingPraise for Elizabeth Chadwick: Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride.--Daily TelegraphA star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here.--USA Today. Seller Inventory # AAC9781402271083

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16.24
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book