Items related to Black Water

Doughty, Louise Black Water

ISBN 13: 9781250141026

Black Water

3.4 avg rating
( 1,416 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9781250141026: Black Water
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A New York Times Book Review Notable Book

In Louise Doughty's Black Water, John Harper is in hiding in a remote hut on a tropical island. As he lies awake at night, listening to the rain on the roof, he believes his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of what he's already done.

In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own tragic history. They begin an affair, but can they offer each other redemption? Or do the ghosts of the past always catch up with us in the end?

Moving across three continents and several decades, Black Water explores some of the darkest events of recent history through the story of one troubled man.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Doughty's excellent new novel is a character study, a glimpse at mid-century American civil rights, a thriller, a meditation on the effects of foreign policy on individuals, a modern love story and a portrait of Indonesian unrest in the twentieth century.... If it sounds like a handful, it is. But Doughty has found an ideal vehicle for her wide-ranging interests." --Olen Steinhauer, The New York Times Book Review

"Doughty's language is punchy, visually striking and emotionally potent.... This is a compelling and vivid psychological drama, with plenty of bite." --Leyla Sanai, The Guardian

"Skilfully drawn and compelling...This serious novel marks a departure for Doughty, whose psychological thrillers, including Apple Tree Yard, have been so successful. This one strays more into le Carré territory-- where she seems equally at home." --Carla McKay, Daily Mail

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. . . richly detailed . . . [T]he role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre." --Library Journal (starred review)

"Through Harper, Doughty creates a jarringly realistic backdrop of Indonesia's violent past, sharply contrasting the menacing atmosphere with a growing romance and Harper's memories of a vulnerable childhood in 1950s Los Angeles. A tense, contemplative literary thriller and worthy follow-up to Doughty's critically acclaimed Apple Tree Yard (2013)." --Booklist

"Doughty has created a novel comparable to Graham Greene's masterpiece The Quiet American in its taut exploration of morality on a geopolitical and personal scale.... The plot is complex and delves into dark, unjustly forgotten corners of history...as much a character study as it is an espionage thriller.... Black Water is a gripping thriller, incisive character study, a critique of US foreign policy and a love story haunted by the 1965 massacres in Indonesia." --Shelf Awareness

PRAISE FOR APPLE TREE YARD

"Doughty is a brilliant storyteller who knows how to build the suspense to a breaking point." --Kate Saunders, The Times (London)

"Doughty writes with consummate pacing and psychological acuity, bringing fresh force to a common regret of adulterous lovers." --The New Yorker

"A disquieting, perceptive and gripping read." --Amber Pearson, Daily Mail

"Extraordinary...I've never read anything like it." --Ruth Rendell, The Guardian

Book Description:

From the bestselling author of Apple Tree Yard, a masterful novel about the secrets in one man's past - and the possibility of redemption.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780571278671: Black Water

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0571278671 ISBN 13: 9780571278671
Publisher: Faber & Faber, 2017
Softcover

9780571278664: Black Water

Faber ..., 2016
Softcover

9780374114015: Black Water

Sarah ..., 2016
Hardcover

9780571323555: Black Water

Faber ..., 2016
Hardcover

9788380532328: Black Water

Burda ..., 2017
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Picador (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Softcover Quantity: 15
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New|VCF. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9781250141026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 8
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Picador (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 29296138-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 10.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 1.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Picador USA 9/12/2017 (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Paperback or Softback Quantity: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. Black Water. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9781250141026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 12.25
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Picador (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
West Coast Bookseller
(Moorpark, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # F7-424w

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 10.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.22
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Picador USA, United States (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. A New York Times Book Review Notable BookIn Louise Doughty's Black Water, John Harper is in hiding in a remote hut on a tropical island. As he lies awake at night, listening to the rain on the roof, he believes his life may be in danger. But he is less afraid of what is going to happen than of what he's already done.In a local town, he meets Rita, a woman with her own tragic history. They begin an affair, but can they offer each other redemption? Or do the ghosts of the past always catch up with us in the end?Moving across three continents and several decades, Black Water explores some of the darkest events of recent history through the story of one troubled man. Seller Inventory # APC9781250141026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 14.46
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Picador (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GF Books, Inc.
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 1250141028-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 15.47
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Picador (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9781250141026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 13.90
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 5.24
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Picador USA (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Paperback / softback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Seller Inventory # B9781250141026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 13.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 9.95
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Doughty, Louise
Published by Picador (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Softcover Quantity: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPricesUK
(Castle Donington, DERBY, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 29296138-n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 10.30
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Louise Doughty
Published by Picador USA 2017-09-12 (2017)
ISBN 10: 1250141028 ISBN 13: 9781250141026
New Paperback Quantity: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-ING-9781250141026

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
£ 12.62
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 14.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds