Louis Stone Jonah

ISBN 13: 9781161437966


9781161437966: Jonah
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is culturally important, we have made it available as part of our commitment for protecting, preserving, and promoting the world's literature in affordable, high quality, modern editions that are true to the original work.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Louis Stone was born in Leicester, England, in 1871. He and his family migrated to Brisbane in 1884, and soon moved to Redfern, then Waterloo, neighbouring inner suburbs of Sydney.

With the aid of a scholarship, Stone attended Fort Street Training School and studied arts at the University of Sydney. He qualified as a teacher in 1895. Intermittent work in Sydney primary schools led to country postings from 1900. Stone returned to the city in 1904, where he married and began writing. Health problems, the result of anxiety, plagued his teaching career.

Jonah was published in London in 1911. The novel painstakingly describes the conditions and distinctive characters--larrikins--of the working-class inner city. Norman Lindsay, A. G. Stephens and Nettie Palmer admired its realistic depiction of Sydney life.

Stone subsequently wrote, without success, the novel Betty Wayside (1915). He began writing for the stage and went to London in 1920 to try his luck. On his return to Australia his plays The Lap of the Gods (1923) and The Watch that Wouldn't Go (1926) were published.

In 1933 Jonah was published in the United States and in Australia, where it stayed in print for many years. It was eventually adapted for television by the ABC and performed as a stage play.

Louis Stone died in 1935, having retired from teaching four years earlier.

Frank Moorhouse has written fiction, non-fiction, screenplays and essays, and edited many collections of writing. His books include the three Edith Campbell Berry novels: Grand Days, which won a South Australian Premier's Award; Dark Palace, which won the Miles Franklin Literary Award; and Cold Light, which won a Queensland Literary Award.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:

Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781922147448: Jonah (Text Classics)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1922147443 ISBN 13: 9781922147448

9781409948124: Jonah (Dodo Press)

Dodo P..., 2008

9780858357150: Jonah

Times ..., 1986

9781169284982: Jonah

Kessin..., 2010

9780207198465: Jonah

Angus ..., 2002