Collected Works

4.44 avg rating
( 9 ratings by Goodreads )
9780882331355: Collected Works

Contents: The Barrel Organ (full-length satirical play), The Foundation Pit (complete novel), The Epifan Locks and nine other short stories. Andrei Platonov (1899-1951) produced a great body of work, including fiction, plays poetry, essays, and scenarios. The chasm between the ideals of the "new men" and the reality of provincial life is one of Platonov's main themes. The Party boss who is blind to suffering and real prbolems is one of his favorit evillains. His favorite heroes are working men - laborers, mechanics, craftsmen - who have intimate relations with both nature and machines. Usually because of supervisors who misuse both machines and men, the heroes come to unhappy ends.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Language Notes:

Text: English, Russian (translation)

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Andrei Platonovich, Thomas P. Whitney (Translator), Carl R. Proffer (Translator), Alexey A. Kiselev (Translator), Marion Jordan (Translator), Friederike Snyder (Translator), Joseph Brodsky (Introduction)
Published by Ardis Publishers (1978)
ISBN 10: 0882331353 ISBN 13: 9780882331355
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1

Book Description Ardis Publishers, 1978. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0882331353

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds