Items related to The Colditz story

P. R. Reid The Colditz story

ISBN 13: 9780809487332

The Colditz story

4.07 avg rating
( 1,098 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780809487332: The Colditz story
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Colditz was the last stop for prisoners of war during WWII. Those who persisted in escaping from other camps were sent to the impregnable fortress of Colditz Castle, situated on a rocky outcrop high above the River Mulde. Once within the walls of the castle, the Germans reasoned, escape was impossible. And yet many prisoners attempted escape and many succeeded

Pat Reid was one of those men. Appointed 'Escape Officer' by his fellow inmates, he masterminded many of the attempts. From tunnelling, to hiding in rubbish sacks, disguising themselves as German officers and even leaping from the castle walls, nothing was too dangerous or foolhardy compared to imprisonment by the enemy. Reid's own escape, in 1942, was both one of the most simple and the most daring.

First published in 1952, The Colditz Story is a classic escape story in the tradition of The Great Escape and The Wooden Horse.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Book Description:

A true classic, this is the original, bestselling story of escape from the dreaded German P.O.W. camp.

About the Author:

Patrick Robert "Pat" Reid, MBE, MC was a British Army Officer and author of two bestselling memoirs of his time as a Nazi Prisoner of War at Colditz Castle in Germany, The Colditz Story and The Latter Days at Colditz.

These books became the basis of a film starring Sir John Mills, and a successful television series starring Robert Wagner and David McCallum.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Good
Former library book; may include... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781444795684: The Colditz Story

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1444795686 ISBN 13: 9781444795684
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton, 2014
Softcover

9780304358120: The Colditz Story (Cassell Military Paperbacks)

Phoenix, 2001
Softcover

9780313202452: The Colditz Story

Greenw..., 1978
Hardcover

9780304362394: The Colditz Story *READER'S DIGEST*: Readers Digest Pack (Cassell Military Trade Books)

Weiden..., 2001
Hardcover

9780340024065: The Colditz Story (Coronet Books)

Corone..., 1983
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Reid, P. R.
Published by Time-Life, Incorporated (1992)
ISBN 10: 0809487330 ISBN 13: 9780809487332
Used Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: Good. Former library book; may include library markings. Used book that is in clean, average condition without any missing pages. Seller Inventory # 4215140-6

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
13.03
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Reid, P. R
Published by 1678-01-01 (1678)
ISBN 10: 0809487330 ISBN 13: 9780809487332
Used Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
LowKeyBooks
(Sumas, WA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: Good. No Jacket. Item is in good condition. Some moderate creases and wear. This item may not come with CDs or additional parts including access codes for textbooks. This may not have a dust jacket. Might be an ex-library copy and contain writing/highlighting. Photos are stock pictures and not of the actual item. Seller Inventory # DS-0809487330-3

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
14.61
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds