To Love and to Cherish: A moving saga of family, ambition and love

4.13 avg rating
( 159 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780755371839: To Love and to Cherish: A moving saga of family, ambition and love
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The enthralling new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author and Headline's queen of sagas Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. Elder sister Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance. But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes for one of the sisters and through these trials they come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

An outstanding storyteller--Woman's Weekly

Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An indisputably gifted storyteller--Historical Novels Review

Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community... will keep the pages turning--Daily Express

Book Description:

Sisters Gloria and Betty grow up in 1920s Liverpool fascinated by the wider world thanks to their father's tales of life at sea. Will they find their own happiness across the ocean or a little closer to home? An evocative saga from the bestselling author of EVERY MOTHER'S SON and FROM LIVERPOOL WITH LOVE.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, is at her compelling best in this dramatic saga perfect for readers of Maureen Lee and Donna Douglas.Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their father Harry is often away, but Sal is a capable, warm-hearted mother. Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering, Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance. But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes. Through the trials that lie ahead, the sisters come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?. Seller Inventory # AA69780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Seller:
TotnesBooks
(Totnes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW COPY - PLEASE SEE OUR OTHER TITLES BY THIS AUTHOR - TRUSTED DEVON (UK) BASED SELLER - IN STOCK -. Seller Inventory # mon0000379040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
2.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, is at her compelling best in this dramatic saga perfect for readers of Maureen Lee and Donna Douglas.Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their father Harry is often away, but Sal is a capable, warm-hearted mother. Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering, Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance. But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes. Through the trials that lie ahead, the sisters come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?. Seller Inventory # AA69780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline 2011-09-01 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline 2011-09-01, 2011. Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-GRD-04753450

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000296518

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lyn Andrews
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Not Signed; The 'Catherine Cookson of Liverpool (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, is at her compelling best in this dramatic saga perfect for readers of Maureen Lee and Donna Douglas. Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780755371839_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Andrews, Lyn; Andrews, Lyn
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 480 pages. 7.75x5.00x1.25 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0755371836

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline Publishing Group 2011-09-01, London (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group 2011-09-01, London, 2011. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book