To Love and to Cherish: A moving saga of family, ambition and love

4.17 avg rating
( 172 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780755371839: To Love and to Cherish: A moving saga of family, ambition and love
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The 'Catherine Cookson of Liverpool (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, is at her compelling best in this dramatic saga perfect for readers of Maureen Lee and Donna Douglas.

Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their father Harry is often away, but Sal is a capable, warm-hearted mother.

Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering, Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance.

But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes. Through the trials that lie ahead, the sisters come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

The enthralling new novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author and Headline's queen of sagas Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. Elder sister Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance. But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes for one of the sisters and through these trials they come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?

Review:

An outstanding storyteller--Woman's Weekly

Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An indisputably gifted storyteller--Historical Novels Review

Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community... will keep the pages turning--Daily Express

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780755371822: To Love and to Cherish: A moving saga of family, ambition and love

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0755371828 ISBN 13:  9780755371822
Publisher: Headline, 2011
Hardcover

9780755371990: To Love and to Cherish: A moving saga of family, ambition and love

Headline, 2011
Softcover

9780755371815: To Love and to Cherish

Headline, 2010
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, is at her compelling best in this dramatic saga perfect for readers of Maureen Lee and Donna Douglas.Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their father Harry is often away, but Sal is a capable, warm-hearted mother. Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering, Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance. But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes. Through the trials that lie ahead, the sisters come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?. Seller Inventory # AA69780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
TotnesBooks
(Totnes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW COPY - PLEASE SEE OUR OTHER TITLES BY THIS AUTHOR - TRUSTED DEVON (UK) BASED SELLER - IN STOCK -. Seller Inventory # mon0000379040

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
2.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.39
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool (Northern Echo), Lyn Andrews, is at her compelling best in this dramatic saga perfect for readers of Maureen Lee and Donna Douglas.Life in 1920s Liverpool for sisters Gloria and Betty Jenkins is secure and comfortable. As Chief Steward on the SS Amazonia, their father Harry is often away, but Sal is a capable, warm-hearted mother. Gloria finds romance with the boy next door, until her wealthy, but snobbish and interfering, Aunt Sybil steps in, offering her the opportunity of a lifetime. A trip to New York gives Gloria everything she desires - including a wealthy husband. Meanwhile, Betty chooses a career at sea, which offers challenges, personal danger and romance. But with the Wall Street Crash of 1929 tragedy strikes. Through the trials that lie ahead, the sisters come to value the bonds of family more than ever. Will they eventually achieve the happiness they desire?. Seller Inventory # AA69780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.62
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000296518

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780755371839_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lyn Andrews
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0755371836. Seller Inventory # ST0755371836

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Andrews, Lyn
Published by Headline
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0755371836 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # DG#IJ8265

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Lyn Andrews
Published by Headline Publishing Group (2011)
ISBN 10: 0755371836 ISBN 13: 9780755371839
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline Publishing Group, 2011. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780755371839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book