How Babies Think: The Science of Childhood

3.85 avg rating
( 1,136 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780753814178: How Babies Think: The Science of Childhood
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct.

Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now beginning to realise that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading scientists draw on 25 years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neurosciences to reveal what babies know and how they learn it.

Book Description:

A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780297842279: How Babies Think: The Science of Childhood

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0297842277 ISBN 13:  9780297842279
Publisher: Orion, 2000
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alison Gopnik, Andrew N. Meltzoff, Patricia Kuhl
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Alison Gopnik, Patricia K Kuhl, Andrew Meltzoff
Published by Phoenix (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Phoenix, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0000294623

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Alison Gopnik, Andrew N. Meltzoff, Patricia Kuhl
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2001. Paperback. Condition: New. Revised ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young children develop emotionally and intellectually, and are beginning to realize that from birth babies already know a staggering amount about the world around them. In the first book of its kind for a popular audience, three leading US scientists draw on twenty-five years of research in philosophy, psychology, computer science, linguistics and neuroscience to reveal what babies know and how they learn it. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Gopnik, Alison, Meltzoff, Andrew N., Kuhl, Patricia
Published by Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3

Book Description Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ), 2001. Condition: New. 2001. New Ed. Paperback. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: JMC; JMM; JMR; PSAJ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 23. Weight in Grams: 290. . . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Gopnik, Alison, Meltzoff, Andrew N., Kuhl, Patricia
Published by Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ). Condition: New. 2001. New Ed. Paperback. A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Num Pages: 304 pages. BIC Classification: JMC; JMM; JMR; PSAJ. Category: (G) General (US: Trade); (U) Tertiary Education (US: College). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 23. Weight in Grams: 290. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Alison Gopnik
Published by Orion Publishing Co
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Alison Gopnik, Andrew N Meltzoff, Patricia K Kuhl
Published by Orion 2001-07-05, London (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion 2001-07-05, London, 2001. paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Gopnik, Alison
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, 2001. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # BB-9780753814178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Alison Gopnik
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Not Signed; A cutting-edge exploration of what evolutionary psychology is teaching us of the development and learning of children, in the tradition of Matt Ridley's The Red Queen and Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct. Learning begins in the first days of life. Scientists are now discovering how young childr. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780753814178_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.29
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Alison Gopnik
Published by Phoenix 2001-07-05 (2001)
ISBN 10: 075381417X ISBN 13: 9780753814178
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Phoenix 2001-07-05, 2001. Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-BER-00151722

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.49
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book