Items related to High Rising

Thirkell, Angela High Rising

ISBN 13: 9780753160862

High Rising

3.7 avg rating
( 2,048 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780753160862: High Rising
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Successful lady novelist Laura Morland and her boisterous young son Tony set off to spend Christmas at her country home in the sleepy surrounds of High Rising. But Laura's wealthy friend and neighbour George Knox has taken on a scheming secretary whose designs on marriage to her employer threaten the delicate social fabric of the village. Can clever, practical Laura rescue George from Miss Grey's clutches and, what's more, help his daughter Miss Sibyl Knox to secure her longed-for engagement?

Utterly charming and very funny, High Rising is irresistible comic entertainment.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Charming, very funny indeed. Angela Thirkell is perhaps the most Pym-like of any twentieth-century author, after Pym herself (Alexander McCall Smith)

Appealing (Glasgow Sunday Herald)

A smart new edition . . . A terrific holiday story (The Lady)

A delightfully entertaining comedy of manners. Full of period charm and witty authorial comment (Good Book Guide)

To be so witty and charming yet also so brilliantly brusque and practical as Laura Morland is my new year's resolution (Pippa Wright, author of The Foster Husband)

Charming, very funny indeed. Angela Thirkell is perhaps the most Pym-like of any twentieth-century author, after Pym herself. (Alexander McCall Smith)

Appealing. (Glasgow Sunday Herald)

A smart new edition . . . A terrific holiday story. (The Lady)

A delightfully entertaining comedy of manners. Full of period charm and witty authorial comment. (Good Book Guide)

Book Description:

The first of Angela Thirkell's brilliantly satirical English comedies set in the fictional county of Barsetshire, High Rising is now available as a Virago Modern Classic. Perfect for fans of Stella Gibbons, PG Wodehouse or EF Benson.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used
Condition: Near Fine
LARGE PRINT, STICKER REMAINS ON... Learn more about this copy

Shipping: 3.61
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781844088836: High Rising: A Virago Modern Classic (Virago Modern Classics)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1844088839 ISBN 13: 9781844088836
Publisher: Virago, 2012
Softcover

9781559213059: High Rising

Moyer ..., 2007
Softcover

9789997532060: High Rising

Knopf, 1951
Hardcover

9780786704224: High Rising (Barsetshire series)

Carrol..., 1949
Softcover

9781559213301: High Rising

Moyer ..., 2002
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Thirkell,Angela
Published by ISIS Large Print Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0753160862 ISBN 13: 9780753160862
Used Soft cover Quantity: 1
Seller:
M.M. DAVIES/BOOKFINDER
(CATSKILL, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft cover. Condition: Near Fine. No Jacket. LARGE PRINT, STICKER REMAINS ON SPINE OW FINE SOFTCOVER 6" BY 9.5" TALL. Seller Inventory # ABE-16468215935

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
7.44
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.61
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds