Items related to Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8): A classic...

Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8): A classic English village murder mystery (A Mitchell & Markby Cotswold whodunnit)

3.92 avg rating
( 449 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780747249085: Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8): A classic English village murder mystery (A Mitchell & Markby Cotswold whodunnit)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Secrets won't stay buried...

Only now, twelve years after the mysterious disappearance of a teenage girl, will Mitchell & Markby begin to unravel the mystery in Candle for a Corpse, Ann Granger's eighth cosy Cotwolds crime novel in the Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Hamish McBeth, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.

'Enjoyable crime featuring credible characters in a recognisably real world' - Belfast Telegraph

On an unseasonably chilly summer's day a macabre discovery is made in Bamford's ancient churchyard. A body, dead some twelve years, is unearthed in the Gresham family plot, too shallowly buried to be a legitimate interment, too recent to be the last Gresham officially laid to rest.

Superintendent Alan Markby cannot resist the challenge to solve this twelve-year-old crime and suddenly his long-planned canal-barge holiday with Meredith Mitchell is in serious jeopardy. When the remains are identified as those of a local teenager, Kimberley Oates, reported missing at the time of the mysterious burial, his mind is made up.

Her holiday postponed, to her secret relief, Meredith finds herself with more time than usual for village chat - and for a dinner party with the local MP that reveals more than either he or his formidable mother would like about his connection with the dead girl...

What readers are saying about Candle for a Corpse:

'If you like low key crime with plenty of humour and interesting characters and plot then you will enjoy this series!'

'Brilliant writer and a brilliant book'

'I feel like I know the heroine personally'

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

The eighth mystery in the Mitchell and Markby series combines intelligent plotting with warmth amd humour

Book Description:

Candle of a Corpse is the eighth mystery in the gripping English village crime series by Ann Granger, combining intelligent plotting with warmth and humour

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780312142926: Candle for a Corpse

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0312142927 ISBN 13: 9780312142926
Publisher: St Martins Pr, 1996
Hardcover

9780380730124: Candle for a Corpse

Avon B..., 1997
Softcover

9780747212713: Candle for a Corpse (A Mitchell & Markby Cotswold whodunnit)

Headli..., 1995
Hardcover

9780745138558: Candle for a Corpse (Paragon Softcover Large Print Books)

Chiver..., 1997
Softcover

9780786208364: Candle for a Corpse: A Mitchell and Markby Cotswold Whodunnit (Thorndike Large Print General Series)

Thornd..., 1997
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # 9780747249085-GDR

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Secrets won't stay buried. Only now, twelve years after the mysterious disappearance of a teenage girl, will Mitchell & Markby begin to unravel the mystery in Candle for a Corpse, Ann Granger's eighth cosy Cotwolds crime novel in the Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Hamish McBeth, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.'Enjoyable crime featuring credible characters in a recognisably real world' - Belfast Telegraph On an unseasonably chilly summer's day a macabre discovery is made in Bamford's ancient churchyard. A body, dead some twelve years, is unearthed in the Gresham family plot, too shallowly buried to be a legitimate interment, too recent to be the last Gresham officially laid to rest. Superintendent Alan Markby cannot resist the challenge to solve this twelve-year-old crime and suddenly his long-planned canal-barge holiday with Meredith Mitchell is in serious jeopardy. When the remains are identified as those of a local teenager, Kimberley Oates, reported missing at the time of the mysterious burial, his mind is made up. Her holiday postponed, to her secret relief, Meredith finds herself with more time than usual for village chat - and for a dinner party with the local MP that reveals more than either he or his formidable mother would like about his connection with the dead girl.What readers are saying about Candle for a Corpse:'If you like low key crime with plenty of humour and interesting characters and plot then you will enjoy this series!''Brilliant writer and a brilliant book''I feel like I know the heroine personally'. Seller Inventory # HUK9780747249085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group 1996-01-11, London (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New paperback Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)

Book Description paperback. Condition: New. Language: ENG. Seller Inventory # 9780747249085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Paperback / softback Quantity: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Candle of a Corpse is the eighth mystery in the gripping English village crime series by Ann Granger, combining intelligent plotting with warmth and humour. Seller Inventory # B9780747249085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Granger, Ann
Published by Gardners Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Softcover Quantity: 3
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Seller Inventory # ria9780747249085_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Paperback Quantity: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Secrets won't stay buried. Only now, twelve years after the mysterious disappearance of a teenage girl, will Mitchell & Markby begin to unravel the mystery in Candle for a Corpse, Ann Granger's eighth cosy Cotwolds crime novel in the Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Hamish McBeth, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.'Enjoyable crime featuring credible characters in a recognisably real world' - Belfast Telegraph On an unseasonably chilly summer's day a macabre discovery is made in Bamford's ancient churchyard. A body, dead some twelve years, is unearthed in the Gresham family plot, too shallowly buried to be a legitimate interment, too recent to be the last Gresham officially laid to rest. Superintendent Alan Markby cannot resist the challenge to solve this twelve-year-old crime and suddenly his long-planned canal-barge holiday with Meredith Mitchell is in serious jeopardy. When the remains are identified as those of a local teenager, Kimberley Oates, reported missing at the time of the mysterious burial, his mind is made up. Her holiday postponed, to her secret relief, Meredith finds herself with more time than usual for village chat - and for a dinner party with the local MP that reveals more than either he or his formidable mother would like about his connection with the dead girl.What readers are saying about Candle for a Corpse:'If you like low key crime with plenty of humour and interesting characters and plot then you will enjoy this series!''Brilliant writer and a brilliant book''I feel like I know the heroine personally'. Seller Inventory # HUK9780747249085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.71
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline Publishing Group (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New PAP Quantity: 3
Seller:
PBShop.store UK
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)

Book Description PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780747249085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Granger, Ann
Published by Gardners Books (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0747249083. Seller Inventory # ST0747249083

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.88
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline 1996-01-11 (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Paperback Quantity: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 6666-HCE-9780747249085

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.39
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.49
Within United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Ann Granger
Published by Headline (1996)
ISBN 10: 0747249083 ISBN 13: 9780747249085
New Softcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
Brook Bookstore
(Milano, MI, Italy)

Book Description Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 70b0faf8ff8a352975b955840a9f2195

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Italy to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book