Sara Macdonald The Sleep of Birds

ISBN 13: 9780747222194

The Sleep of Birds

3.25 avg rating
( 8 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780747222194: The Sleep of Birds
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Dartmoor has a unique beauty, but it is also dangerous in its remoteness. Alone there with her husband Jake, Sigrid Watson lives a daily nightmare as his charm and warmth turn to anger and violence. When she gets her chance to escape, it's only by a hair's-breadth that she makes it. Resident with friends in St Ives, Sigrid starts to paint again, gradually forgetting Jake's contempt for her work. A new lover, Matt, brings into her life the warmth that has been missing. But the nightmare is not over. Jake is watching. Jake can't bear to see anyone else grow close to his wife. When Matt is found dead, Sigrid knows at once who is behind it. She starts to wonder about the mysterious death of the man she loved before Jake. And she begins to fear not only for her own life but for the lives of everyone around her...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

So powerful... that I missed an entire night's sleep because I was unable to put it down... A masterful thriller by a truly accomplished author (The Cornishman)

Only too frighteningly real. En exploration of evil... thought-provoking... As convincing as it is compelling (Western Morning News Plymouth)

A terrifying, nail-biting book that is difficult to put down (Lancashire Evening Post)

Book Description:

A tense and dramatic novel in the vein of Barbara Vine and Minette Walters

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780708943205: The Sleep of Birds

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0708943209 ISBN 13:  9780708943205
Publisher: Ulverscroft Large Print Books Ltd, 2000
Hardcover

9780747260547: The Sleep of Birds

Headline, 2000
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sara MacDonald
Published by Headline, UK (1999)
ISBN 10: 0747222193 ISBN 13: 9780747222194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, UK, 1999. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110747222193

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
64.09
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Sara MacDonald
Published by Headline, UK (1999)
ISBN 10: 0747222193 ISBN 13: 9780747222194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Headline, UK, 1999. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0747222193

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
177.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds