Michael Dean I, Hogarth

ISBN 13: 9780715647516

I, Hogarth

4 avg rating
( 1 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780715647516: I, Hogarth

William Hogarth's epoch-defining paintings and engravings, such as "Gin Lane" and "The Rake's Progress," are renowned.

William Hogarth's epoch-defining paintings and engravings, such as "Gin Lane" and "The Rake's Progress," are renowned.

He was London's artist par excellence, and his work supplies the most enduring vision of the eighteenth century's ebullience, enjoyments, and social iniquities.

From a childhood spent in a debtor's prison to his death in the arms of his wife, I, Hogarth follows the artist's life as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Through Hogarth's lifelong marriage to Jane Thornhill, his inability to have children, his time as one of England's best portrait painters, his old age and unfortunate dip into politics, and his untimely death, I, Hogarth is the remarkable story told through the artist's eyes. Michael Dean blends Hogarth's life and work into a rich and satisfying narrative, recommended for fans of Hilary Mantel and Peter Ackroyd.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Michael Dean lives in Seattle, WA. He has been an editor at The Comics Journal since 1999.

From Booklist:

Dean, a linguist by training, has the renowned, eighteenth-century British painter, engraver, and illustrator William Hogarth tell his own life story in a work of vivid and ribald first-person historical fiction. His father is an unworldly writer of abstruse texts who lands in debtor’s prison. His long-suffering yet entrepreneurial mother saves her family with the help of a moneylender. Hogarth—Billy to his friends—escapes the shocking confines of poverty through the arts, first as an apprentice engraver, then as a painter. We follow him from success to success, but he cannot forsake the pleasures of the flesh, and they exact their revenge on his health and his marriage. Or so Hogarth reports, offering unvarnished opinions of his enemies and fulsome praise for the pale, ample flesh of the harlots he can’t quit. Not lust but pride cuts our smallish, increasingly pudgy man down to size. The period details are unobtrusive; the language is direct; the story, told in vignettes, is surely meant to evoke Hogarth’s crowded prints. Not only devotees of historical fiction will enjoy Dean’s Hogarth. --Michael Autrey

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Dean, Michael.
Published by Duckworth Overlook. 1 Paperback(s) (2012)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New soft Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Daedalus Books
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duckworth Overlook. 1 Paperback(s), 2012. soft. Book Condition: New. William Hogarth was the great artist of 18th-century London; his work supplies the most enduring vision of the era's ebullience, enjoyments, and social iniquities. From a childhood spent in a debtor's prison to his death in the arms of his wife, this book follows the painter's life through his own eyes through public fame and private disappointments, as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Also the biographer of Noam Chomsky, Michael Dean blends Hogarth's life and work into a vivid narrative."If the BBC hasn't already optioned this, it should get a move on: Hogarth's life, as Dean portrays it, is an educational but sexily pleasurable costume drama waiting to happen."—Publishers Weekly"The voice in which Dean's Hogarth tells his own story is rich and persuasive, seemingly authentic. Gritty, bawdy and funny, his narrative is like stepping into a Hogarth painting. Dean paints with words as Hogarth did with his brush."—NYTBR 261. Bookseller Inventory # 73945

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 3.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Michael Dean
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. From a childhood spent in a debtors prison to his death in the arms of his wife, I, Hogarth follows the life of painter William Hogarth as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Through his lifelong marriage to Jane Thornhill, his inability to have children, his time as one of Englands best portrait painters, his old age and unfortunate dip into politics, and ultimately his death, I, Hogarth is the artists life through the artists eyes. Bookseller Inventory # AA79780715647516

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 7.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Michael Dean
Published by Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United Kingdom (2014)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, United Kingdom, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. From a childhood spent in a debtors prison to his death in the arms of his wife, I, Hogarth follows the life of painter William Hogarth as he makes a name for himself and as he fights for artists with his Copyright Act. Through his lifelong marriage to Jane Thornhill, his inability to have children, his time as one of Englands best portrait painters, his old age and unfortunate dip into politics, and ultimately his death, I, Hogarth is the artists life through the artists eyes. Bookseller Inventory # AA79780715647516

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Michael Dean
Published by Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Orbiting Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch from the UK (Mon-Fri). Please contact us with any queries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000409142

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 7
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Michael Dean
Published by Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Paperback Quantity Available: 11
Seller:
Y-Not-Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch. International delivery available. 1000's of satisfied customers! Please contact us with any enquiries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000163440

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 7
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Michael Dean
Published by Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 272 pages. 7.95x5.51x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0715647512

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 6.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 6
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Michael Dean
Published by Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Bookseller Inventory # B9780715647516

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Michael Dean
Published by Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Bestsellersuk
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â€" all orders are dispatched next working day. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000434066

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 4.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 8.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Michael Dean
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 125936093

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 8.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 5.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Dean, Michael
Published by Gerald Duckworth and Co Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0715647512 ISBN 13: 9780715647516
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Gerald Duckworth and Co Ltd, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FV-9780715647516

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 5.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book