Ellen Lerner Rothman White Coat

ISBN 13: 9780688175894

White Coat

3.74 avg rating
( 549 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780688175894: White Coat
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

"White Coat" is Dr. Ellen Lerner Rothman's vivid account of her four years at Harvard Medical School. Describing the grueling hours and emotional hurdles she underwent to earn the degree of M.D., Dr. Rothman tells the story of one woman's transformation from a terrified first-year medical studen into a confident, competent doctor. Touching on the most relevant issues in medicine today--such as HMOs, aIDS, and assisted suicide--Dr. Rothman recounts her despair and exhilaration as a medical student, from the stress of exams to th hard-won rewards that came from treating patients. The anecdotes in "White Coat" are funny, heartbreaking, and at times horrifying. Each chapter taes us deeper into Dr. Rothman's medical school experience, illuminating her struggle to walk the line between too much and not enough intimacy with her patients. For readers of Perri Klass and Richard Selzer, Dr. Rothman looks candidly at medicine and presents an unvarnished perspective on a subject that matters to us all. "White Coat" opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor in a book that will change the way we look at our medical establishment.In "White Coat," Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives. With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range ofexperiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat. For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world. In "White Coat," Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives. With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat. For readers of Perri Klass, RichardSelzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"A medical student's thoughtful and revealing chronicle of growing into the white coat of a doctor . . . told with clarity, candor, and grace."--"Kirkus Reviews"

"Rothman, whose interest in medical ethics led her to medical school, possesses a journalist's eye for detail and makes engrossing reading of even the most mundane tasks associated with medical training. She also lets us follow her romance with a fellow student, adding another dimension to this unflinching look at the healing profession."--"Chicago Tribune"

About the Author:

Ellen Lerner Rothman, M.D., lives with her husband, Carlos Lerner, in Brookline, Massachusetts. She is currently doing her residency in the Boston Combined Pediatrics Program at Boston Children's Hospital and Boston City Hospital. This is her first book.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780688153137: White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0688153135 ISBN 13:  9780688153137
Publisher: William Morrow & Company, 1999
Hardcover

9780742937420: White Coat: Becoming a Doctor at Harvard Medical School

Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rothman, Ellen L.
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2000. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780688175894

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Rothman, Ellen L.
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2000. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780688175894

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.21
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Rothman, Ellen L
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0688175899

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.79
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.72
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688175899 Brand New Direct from the Publisher! Not overstocks or marked up remainders! Ships in a sturdy cardboard container with tracking!. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780688175894

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688175899. Seller Inventory # Z0688175899ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688175899. Seller Inventory # Z0688175899ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688175899. Seller Inventory # Z0688175899ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688175899. Seller Inventory # Z0688175899ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688175899. Seller Inventory # Z0688175899ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Rothman, Ellen L; Rothman, Ellen
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks
ISBN 10: 0688175899 ISBN 13: 9780688175894
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow Paperbacks. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0688175899. Seller Inventory # Z0688175899ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book