Lemann, Nancy The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780684852058

The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel

3.23 avg rating
( 44 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780684852058: The Fiery Pantheon: A Novel
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Acclaimed for her "gleeful and contagious love of language" (Los Angeles Times), Nancy Lemann evokes the tattered glamour of fading traditional Southern society like no other writer. Now she introduces the aristocratic Stewart clan of New Orleans, in particular, the self-effacing Grace, who is vacationing with her family at a rambling old resort in Virginia and mulling over her recent engagement to Monroe Collier, her ideal Southern gentleman. When she spots the crazed but brilliant Walter, she pegs him as a likely candidate for a nervous breakdown, but he determinedly attaches himself to Grace and begins to work his charms on her.
Will Grace remain true to laconic Monroe and the ideals of her homeland or will she fall for the strangely charismatic Walter? Who will gain entry into the Fiery Pantheon, Grace's personal gallery of beloved and honored heroes? In the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Walker Percy, The Fiery Pantheon is a witty and rapturous novel about the weight of past glory, the attachment to place, and the love of a man.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amy Hempel Nancy Lemann has so many gifts as a writer it feels odd to point first to her generous heart. But that is where it all begins: the romanticism, the affectionate humor, the elegant locutions that echo another era, and, of course, her ceaseless devotion to the South.

The Boston Globe A New Orleans version of Jane Austen.

Entertainment Weekly Lemann's writing -- at once wry and sumptuous -- will glue you to your chair with the intoxicating effect of a mint julep on a sultry summer day.

Julia Reed The New York Times Book Review Seductive...The Fiery Pantheon is a lovely, lyrical work of fiction.

Mary Kay Zuravleff The Washington Post Book World Delightful...your resistence proves futile. Good thing, because once you surrender, you can accompany this accomplished, generous storyteller on a trip around the world. Ultimately, stand in awe as Nancy Lemann asks where in the world is home and then arrives at an answer as satisfying as it is tender.

The Times-Picayune A perfect barometer of the Southern soul.

Chicago Tribune This is Lemann at her witty best, showing us the quirky mannerisms beneath the manners and leading us through a world that through its exaggerated gestures, reveals both the charms and danger of our own.

Elle Nancy Lemann's baroque voice channels the elegant phrasing of another era; playful stateliness ensues. As the Stewart family leaves a famed resort in Virginia for an episodic tour of the splendid ruined cities of the Ottoman Empire, one hears beneath the author's stylized nostalgia a genuine nostalgia -- for home, for honor, for romance with "dash."

Vogue Another gorgeous winner from Lemann.

Anniston Star What makes The Fiery Pantheon such a pleasure is Nancy Lemann's fey, delightful writing, as nonsensical as it is precise, full of the unexpected turn of phrase and as incantatory as light verse.

Synopsis:

Ever cognizant of her Southern roots, Grace Stewart finally deigns to marry true gentleman Monroe Collier, but when their engagement hits the rocks, she finds herself drawn to a brilliant yet crazy Wall Street securities analyst.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780684841144: The Fiery Pantheon

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0684841142 ISBN 13:  9780684841144
Publisher: Prentice Hall & IBD, 1998
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nancy Lemann
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0684852055

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.85
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Nancy Lemann
Published by SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States (1999)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States, 1999. Paperback. Condition: New. Scribner PB Fic ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. Acclaimed for her "gleeful and contagious love of language" (Los Angeles Times), Nancy Lemann evokes the tattered glamour of fading traditional Southern society like no other writer. Now she introduces the aristocratic Stewart clan of New Orleans, in particular, the self-effacing Grace, who is vacationing with her family at a rambling old resort in Virginia and mulling over her recent engagement to Monroe Collier, her ideal Southern gentleman. When she spots the crazed but brilliant Walter, she pegs him as a likely candidate for a nervous breakdown, but he determinedly attaches himself to Grace and begins to work his charms on her. Will Grace remain true to laconic Monroe and the ideals of her homeland or will she fall for the strangely charismatic Walter? Who will gain entry into the Fiery Pantheon, Grace's personal gallery of beloved and honored heroes? In the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Walker Percy, The Fiery Pantheon is a witty and rapturous novel about the weight of past glory, the attachment to place, and the love of a man. Seller Inventory # AAV9780684852058

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Nancy Lemann
Published by SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States (1999)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description SIMON & SCHUSTER, United States, 1999. Paperback. Condition: New. Scribner PB Fic ed. Language: English. Brand new Book. Acclaimed for her "gleeful and contagious love of language" (Los Angeles Times), Nancy Lemann evokes the tattered glamour of fading traditional Southern society like no other writer. Now she introduces the aristocratic Stewart clan of New Orleans, in particular, the self-effacing Grace, who is vacationing with her family at a rambling old resort in Virginia and mulling over her recent engagement to Monroe Collier, her ideal Southern gentleman. When she spots the crazed but brilliant Walter, she pegs him as a likely candidate for a nervous breakdown, but he determinedly attaches himself to Grace and begins to work his charms on her. Will Grace remain true to laconic Monroe and the ideals of her homeland or will she fall for the strangely charismatic Walter? Who will gain entry into the Fiery Pantheon, Grace's personal gallery of beloved and honored heroes? In the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Walker Percy, The Fiery Pantheon is a witty and rapturous novel about the weight of past glory, the attachment to place, and the love of a man. Seller Inventory # AAV9780684852058

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Lemann, Nancy
Published by Simon and Schuster (1999)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Simon and Schuster, 1999. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # LQ-9780684852058

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Lemann, Nancy
Published by Scribner Book Company 4/26/1999 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)

Book Description Scribner Book Company 4/26/1999, 1999. Paperback or Softback. Condition: New. The Fiery Pantheon. Book. Seller Inventory # BBS-9780684852058

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.18
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Nancy Lemann
Published by Scribner (1999)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Scribner, 1999. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0684852055

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.91
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Lemann, Nancy
Published by Scribner (2017)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Scribner, 2017. Paperback. Condition: New. PRINT ON DEMAND Book; New; Publication Year 2017; Not Signed; Fast Shipping from the UK. No. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780684852058_lsuk

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Lemann, Nancy
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0684852055 Special order direct from the distributor. Seller Inventory # ING9780684852058

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.14
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.35
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Lemann, Nancy
Published by Scribner 1999-04 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Quantity Available: 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Scribner 1999-04, 1999. Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 4-5 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-LSI-06871484

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.28
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Nancy Lemann
Published by Scribner 1999-04-01 (1999)
ISBN 10: 0684852055 ISBN 13: 9780684852058
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)

Book Description Scribner 1999-04-01, 1999. Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 4-5 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Seller Inventory # NU-ING-26005338

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.40
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book