Son of the Morning (Banners of Blood 1)

3.67 avg rating
( 548 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780575115163: Son of the Morning (Banners of Blood 1)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Lauded by fellow authors, a five star 'SFX recommends' title, adored by the bloggers, Mark Alder's debut novel of angels, demons, kings and the Hundred Years War marks the beginning of a hugely exciting new series.

Edward III stands in a burnt English church, destroyed in a French raid. A raid on his land, a raid on him. He is in debt and surrounded by doubters, only victory against France will save his throne.

But Philip of Valois can put 50,000 men in the field. He has sent his priests to summon the very angels themselves to fight for France. Edward could call on God for aid but he is a usurper. What if God truly is on the side of the French?

But for a price, Edward could open the gates of Hell and take an unholy war to France ...

Mark Alder has brought the epic fantasy of George R.R. Martin to the vivid historical adventure of Bernard Cornwell and has a created a fantasy that will sweep you to a new vision of the Hundred Years War.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

SFX FIVE STAR RECOMMENDATION - SON OF THE MORNING is a smart, gripping historical fantasy (SFX)

A triumphant combination of great characters and an epic - yet not too sprawling - plot....a vivid and realistic story that, once you're in, you'll find it hard to leave (Fantasy Faction)

What the author has accomplished here is nothing short of remarkable, providing a rich window into an alternative history that hits all the right notes and doesn't alienate those without a deep knowledge of historical happenings (SF BOOK)

This is fast-paced and absorbing but most of all it is as visual as a richly coloured medieval tapestry packed with detail (We Love This Book)

It is a novel that demands to be read (Fantasy Book Review)

Expertly written, highly detailed and vividly imagined, this is an outstanding work of historical fiction/alternate history which pulled me in with its prose and story from page 1 (Grim Dark Fantasy Reader)

Book Description:

The Hundred Years War rages, and angels and demons stalk the earth. The beginning of an acclaimed new series for fans of George R.R. Martin and Bernard Cornwell alike.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780575115156: Son of the Morning

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0575115157 ISBN 13: 9780575115156
Publisher: Gollancz, 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Mark Alder
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Lauded by fellow authors, a five star 'SFX recommends' title, adored by the bloggers, Mark Alder's debut novel of angels, demons, kings and the Hundred Years War marks the beginning of a hugely exciting new series.Edward III stands in a burnt English church, destroyed in a French raid. A raid on his land, a raid on him. He is in debt and surrounded by doubters, only victory against France will save his throne. But Philip of Valois can put 50,000 men in the field. He has sent his priests to summon the very angels themselves to fight for France. Edward could call on God for aid but he is a usurper. What if God truly is on the side of the French? But for a price, Edward could open the gates of Hell and take an unholy war to France .Mark Alder has brought the epic fantasy of George R.R. Martin to the vivid historical adventure of Bernard Cornwell and has a created a fantasy that will sweep you to a new vision of the Hundred Years War. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780575115163

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Alder, Mark
Published by Gollancz (2015)
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)

Book Description Gollancz, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001401943

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.76
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Mark Alder
Published by Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom (2015)
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, United Kingdom, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Lauded by fellow authors, a five star 'SFX recommends' title, adored by the bloggers, Mark Alder's debut novel of angels, demons, kings and the Hundred Years War marks the beginning of a hugely exciting new series.Edward III stands in a burnt English church, destroyed in a French raid. A raid on his land, a raid on him. He is in debt and surrounded by doubters, only victory against France will save his throne. But Philip of Valois can put 50,000 men in the field. He has sent his priests to summon the very angels themselves to fight for France. Edward could call on God for aid but he is a usurper. What if God truly is on the side of the French? But for a price, Edward could open the gates of Hell and take an unholy war to France .Mark Alder has brought the epic fantasy of George R.R. Martin to the vivid historical adventure of Bernard Cornwell and has a created a fantasy that will sweep you to a new vision of the Hundred Years War. Seller Inventory # AAZ9780575115163

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Mark Alder
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Paperback. Lauded by fellow authors, a five star 'SFX recommends' title, adored by the bloggers, Mark Alder's debut novel of angels, demons, kings and the Hundred Years War marks the beginning of a h.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 752 pages. 0.540. Seller Inventory # 9780575115163

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Alder, Mark
Published by Gollancz (2015)
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1

Book Description Gollancz, 2015. Condition: New. The Hundred Years War rages, and angels and demons stalk the earth. The beginning of an acclaimed new series for fans of George R.R. Martin and Bernard Cornwell alike. Num Pages: 752 pages. BIC Classification: FM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 44. Weight in Grams: 540. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780575115163

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Alder, Mark
Published by Gollancz
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

Book Description Gollancz. Condition: New. The Hundred Years War rages, and angels and demons stalk the earth. The beginning of an acclaimed new series for fans of George R.R. Martin and Bernard Cornwell alike. Num Pages: 752 pages. BIC Classification: FM. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 44. Weight in Grams: 540. . 2015. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780575115163

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Alder, Mark
Published by Gollancz (2015)
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Gollancz, 2015. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Seller Inventory # 9780575115163N

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 8.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

8.

Mark Alder
Published by Orion Publishing Co
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Paperback / softback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co. Paperback / softback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780575115163

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.93
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

9.

Mark Alder
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)

Book Description Condition: New. Not Signed; Lauded by fellow authors, a five star 'SFX recommends' title, adored by the bloggers, Mark Alder's debut novel of angels, demons, kings and the Hundred Years War marks the beginning of a hugely exciting new series. Edward III stands in a burnt English church, destroyed in a French raid. A raid on hi. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780575115163_new

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Alder, Mark
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2015)
ISBN 10: 0575115165 ISBN 13: 9780575115163
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, 2015. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 752 pages. 7.75x5.00x1.75 inches. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0575115165

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book