White Chrysanthemum (Random House Large Print)

 
9780525524243: White Chrysanthemum (Random House Large Print)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

For fans of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and Lilac Girls, the heartbreaking history of Korea is brought to life in this deeply moving and redemptive debut that follows two sisters separated by World War II.

Korea, 1943. Hana has lived her entire life under Japanese occupation. As a haenyeo, a female diver of the sea, she enjoys an independence that few other Koreans can still claim. Until the day Hana saves her younger sister from a Japanese soldier and is herself captured and transported to Manchuria. There she is forced to become a "comfort woman" in a Japanese military brothel. But haenyeo are women of power and strength. She will find her way home.

South Korea, 2011. Emi has spent more than sixty years trying to forget the sacrifice her sister made, but she must confront the past to discover peace. Seeing the healing of her children and her country, can Emi move beyond the legacy of war to find forgiveness?

Suspenseful, hopeful, and ultimately redemptive, White Chrysanthemum tells a story of two sisters whose love for each other is strong enough to triumph over the grim evils of war.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"I read it in one sitting -- horrified and rapt" (Kate Kellaway Observer)

"A hugely affecting, captivating read -- I cried for most of the second half" (Sarah Shaffi Stylist)

"Beautifully written... In elegant but emotionally devastating prose Bracht conveys the heartbreaking impact of brutality and war upon women" (Charlotte Heathcote Sunday Express)

"If you're a fan of The Kite Runner and Memoirs of A Geisha, you'll love Mary Lynn Bracht's novel... Both educating and engaging, Bracht’s rich detail and captivating characters plunge you into Korean history in a heartbreaking and deeply emotional page-turner" (Rebecca Wilcock i newspaper)

"An evocative picture of loss and also an account of how one of the deepest human bonds can survive almost anything" (James Naughtie BBC Radio 4 Today Programme)

Book Description:

The heartbreaking story of Korea during the Second World War is brought to life in this gripping, redemptive debut about two sisters

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780735214439: White Chrysanthemum

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0735214433 ISBN 13: 9780735214439
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018
Hardcover

9781784741440: White Chrysanthemum

Chatto..., 2018
Hardcover

9781784741457: White Chrysanthemum

Chatto..., 2018
Softcover

9780735218390: White Chrysanthemum Mrexp

Pengui..., 2018
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Bracht, Mary Lynn
Published by Random House Large Print (2018)
ISBN 10: 052552424X ISBN 13: 9780525524243
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Random House Large Print, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB052552424X

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
34.34
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds