Words and Rules: The Ingredients Of Language (Science Masters Series)

3.9 avg rating
( 1,400 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780465072705: Words and Rules: The Ingredients Of Language (Science Masters Series)

"If you are not already a Steven Pinker addict, this book will make you one." --Jared Diamond
In Words and Rules, Steven Pinker explores profound mysteries of language by picking a deceptively simple phenomenon--regular and irregular verbs--and examining it from every angle. With humor and verve, he covers an astonishing array of topics in the sciences and humanities, from the history of languages to how to simulate languages on computers to major ideas in the history of Western philosophy.
Through it all, Pinker presents a single, powerful idea: that language comprises a mental dictionary of memorized words and a mental grammar of creative rules. The idea extends beyond language and offers insight into the very nature of the human mind.
This is a sparkling, eye-opening, and utterly original book by one of the world's leading cognitive scientists.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Human languages are capable of expressing a literally endless number of different ideas. How do we manage it--so effortlessly that we scarcely ever stop to think about it? In Words and Rules: The Ingredients of Language, a look at the simple concepts that we use to devise works as complex as love sonnets and tax laws, renowned neuroscientist and linguist Steven Pinker shows us how. The latest linguistic research suggests that each of us stores a limited (though large) number of words and word-parts in memory and manipulates them with a much smaller number of rules to produce every writing and utterance, and Pinker explains every step of the way with engaging good humor.

Pinker's enthusiasm for the subject infects the reader, particularly as he emphasizes the relation between how we communicate and how we think. What does it mean that a small child who has never heard the word wug can tell a researcher that when one wug meets another, there are two wugs? Some rule must be telling the child that English plurals end in -s, which also explains mistakes like mouses. Is our communication linked inextricably with our thinking? Pinker says yes, and it's hard to disagree. Words and Rules is an excellent introduction to and overview of current thinking about language, and will greatly reward the careful reader with new ways of thinking about how we think, talk, and write. --Rob Lightner

From the Back Cover:

How does language work? How do we learn to speak? Why do languages change? Why do they have so many quirks? What does language reveal about the mind?

Steven Pinker explores the mysteries of language in this original and hugely entertaining book. Pinker uses a deceptively simple phenomenon—regular and irregular verbs—to illuminate an astonishing array of topics: the history of languages, what we can learn from children's grammatical mistakes, the genetic and neurobiological underpinnings of language, and some of the major themes in Western philosophy. The key idea—that language comprises a mental dictionary of memorized words and a mental grammar of creative rules—extends beyond language, offering insight into the nature of thinking. For fans of The Language Instinct and The Stuff of Thought, here is another cornucopia of ideas about language and mind.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Perseus Books Group (2015)
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perseus Books Group, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9780465072705

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Perseus Books Group (2015)
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New Quantity Available: 6
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Perseus Books Group, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780465072705

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Basic Books 7/14/2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books 7/14/2015, 2015. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Words and Rules: The Ingredients of Language. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780465072705

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Pinker, Steven
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 23258829-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.98
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Basic Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0465072704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.49
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0465072704. Bookseller Inventory # Z0465072704ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0465072704. Bookseller Inventory # Z0465072704ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0465072704. Bookseller Inventory # Z0465072704ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Pinker, Steven
Published by Basic Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Basic Books, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # 0465072704

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Steven Pinker
Published by INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0465072704 ISBN 13: 9780465072705
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. How does language work? How do children learn their mother tongue? Why do languages change over time, making Shakespearean English difficult for us and Chaucer s English almost incomprehensible? Why do languages have so many quirks and irregularities? Are they all fundamentally alike? How are new words created? Where in the brain does language reside?In Words and Rules , Steven Pinker answers these and many other questions. His book shares the wit and style of his classic, The Language Instinct , but explores language in a completely different way. In Words and Rules , Pinker explains the profound mysteries of language by picking a deceptively simple phenomenon and examining it from every angle. The phenomenon,regular and irregular verbs,connects an astonishing array of topics in the sciences and humanities: the history of languages, the theories of Noam Chomsky and his critics the attempts to simulate language using computer simulations of neural networks the illuminating errors of children as they begin to speak the nature of human concepts the peculiarities of the English language major ideas in the history of Western philosophy the latest techniques in identifying genes and imaging the living brain.Pinker makes sense of all of this with the help of a single, powerful idea: that language comprises a mental dictionary of memorized words and a mental grammar of creative rules. The idea extends beyond language and offers insight into the very nature of the human mind. This is a sparkling, eye-opening and utterly original book by one of the world s leading cognitive scientists. Bookseller Inventory # BZE9780465072705

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book