Stealing Magic: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)

3.93 avg rating
( 658 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780375867903: Stealing Magic: A Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure (The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures)

Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love this rollicking sequel to The Sixty-Eight Rooms—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth graders Ruthie and Jack thought their adventures in the Thorne Rooms were over, until miniatures from the rooms start to disappear. Is it the work of the art thief who's on the loose in Chicago? Or has someone else discovered the secret of the Thorne Rooms' magic? Ruthie and Jack's quest to stop the thief takes them from modern day Chicago to 1937 Paris to antebellum South Carolina. But as more items disappear, including the key that allows them to shrink and access the past worlds, what was once just an adventure becomes a life and death race against the clock. Can Ruthie and Jack catch the thief and help the friends they meet on the way before the magic—and the rooms—are destroyed forever?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!
The New York Times:
"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:
"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:
"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

MARIANNE MALONE is the mother of three grown children, a former art teacher, and the cofounder of the Campus School Middle School for Girls in Urbana, Illinois. She and her husband divide their time between Urbana and Washington, D.C. For Teacher's Guides (including common core tie-ins) and more, visit MarianneMalone.com.

From Booklist:

This sequel to the popular The Sixty-Eight Rooms (2010) begins just a few months after the first book ended. Sixth-graders Ruthie and Jack are just coming down from their adventure at the Art Institute of Chicago’s minature Thorne Rooms. Well, really, inside the Thorne Rooms, as a magic key allowed them to shrink and enter the dollhouse-proportioned spaces. Now the key once more leads them back in time—until it’s stolen. The tension is cranked up even higher as the kids try to help a Jewish girl in 1937 Paris escape the Holocaust and also meet a slave girl in pre–Civil War Charleston. These events may be one too many, causing the magical machinations to become more complicated than ever. Still, there’s a respectable villian, plenty of action, and a nice dose of art and history to keep readers involved. Oh, and magic. Don’t forget the magic. Grades 4-7. --Ilene Cooper

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Marianne Malone
Published by Yearling Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Yearling Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Greg Call (illustrator). Language: English . Brand New Book. Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love this rollicking sequel to The Sixty-Eight Rooms--a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth graders Ruthie and Jack thought their adventures in the Thorne Rooms were over, until miniatures from the rooms start to disappear. Is it the work of the art thief who s on the loose in Chicago? Or has someone else discovered the secret of the Thorne Rooms magic? Ruthie and Jack s quest to stop the thief takes them from modern day Chicago to 1937 Paris to antebellum South Carolina. But as more items disappear, including the key that allows them to shrink and access the past worlds, what was once just an adventure becomes a life and death race against the clock. Can Ruthie and Jack catch the thief and help the friends they meet on the way before the magic--and the rooms--are destroyed forever? Here s What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures! The New York Times: Irresistible. Chicago Sun-Times: Exhilarating. Chicago Tribune: Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780375867903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Malone, Marianne
Published by Yearling
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Yearling. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0375867902 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GHP5592JGLM121816H0133

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Marianne Malone
Published by Yearling Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Yearling Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Greg Call (illustrator). Language: English . Brand New Book. Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love this rollicking sequel to The Sixty-Eight Rooms--a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth graders Ruthie and Jack thought their adventures in the Thorne Rooms were over, until miniatures from the rooms start to disappear. Is it the work of the art thief who s on the loose in Chicago? Or has someone else discovered the secret of the Thorne Rooms magic? Ruthie and Jack s quest to stop the thief takes them from modern day Chicago to 1937 Paris to antebellum South Carolina. But as more items disappear, including the key that allows them to shrink and access the past worlds, what was once just an adventure becomes a life and death race against the clock. Can Ruthie and Jack catch the thief and help the friends they meet on the way before the magic--and the rooms--are destroyed forever? Here s What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures! The New York Times: Irresistible. Chicago Sun-Times: Exhilarating. Chicago Tribune: Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780375867903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Malone, Marianne
Published by Yearling (2013)
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Yearling, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0375867902

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Malone, Marianne
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VQ-9780375867903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Malone, Marianne
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780375867903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
2.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

MALONE, MARIANNE
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0375867902

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Malone, Marianne
Published by Yearling Books 1/8/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Yearling Books 1/8/2013, 2013. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Stealing Magic. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780375867903

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Marianne Malone
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780375867903_ing

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Malone, Marianne
Published by Yearling
ISBN 10: 0375867902 ISBN 13: 9780375867903
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Yearling. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0375867902. Bookseller Inventory # Z0375867902ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book