Nicholas Griffin The Requiem Shark

ISBN 13: 9780349111834

The Requiem Shark

3.7 avg rating
( 153 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780349111834: The Requiem Shark
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Set in the 18th century's Golden Age of Piracy, THE REQUIEM SHARK is the tale of a young recruit, William Williams and his forced apprenticeship to Bartholomew Roberts, slaver turned pirate Captain. Enlisted first as a musician, then as the Captain's biographer, Williams learns to negotiate the seas of the Caribbean and West Africa recording their conflicts with the merchantmen and whores, tribesmen and soldiers that populated the ends of the known world. Influenced by shipmates, from the learned Dr Scudamore to Innocent, ex-slave and sole member of his own religion, Williams struggles to justify his own position within the Royal Fortune, as the British Navy hunt them down and the fanatical Captain Roberts drives the ship onwards to the ultimate prize - the mysterious treasure ship...Rich in historical detail and based upon the last years of the most successful pirate known to history, THE REQUIEM SHARK is a gripping adventure set in a brutal environment dominated by gold, disease and blood.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Remarkable ... a vivid and authentic picture of life at sea that is second to none. What Griffin does not know about pirates is not worth a ship's biscuit ... there is more than enough action and adventure, blood and guts, disease and death, love and cruelty, acts of loyalty and deeds of deceit to keep all but the most squeamish turning the pages (DAILY MAIL)

Griffin records in prose of studied ease that is utterly his own. The narrative is almost flawless (Ross Leckie, author of HANNIBAL)

Fascinating research... A wonderfully original blend of pastiche and the raciest action writing you'll find anywhere. (Julian Rathbone, author LAST ENGLISH KING)

A gory and glorious tale of piracy..The writing is assured, and the use of journals enhances the plot and characters. Nicholas Griffin has taken an old-fashioned subject and breathed into it modernity and considerable wit. (SPECTATOR)

Battles, storms and doomed young love will appeal to fans of Robert Louis Stevenson and Errol Flynn ... faultlessly rendered (INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY)

A marvellously exciting and breathless book ... has taken an old-fashioned subject and breathed into it modernity and considerable wit (SPECTATOR)

This rousing debut set aboard an eighteenth century pirate ship tells a skilfully crafted hypnotic tale abounding in mayhem and murder ... Concluding his yarn with a clever triple twist, Griffin proves himself an unusually fine chronicler of high-seas adventure (PUBLISHERS WEEKLY)

Exciting and occasionally gruesome debut swashbuckler that replaces Hollywood conventions of swordplay and melodramatic revenge with brutally frank historical realism ... Plenty of action and horrific thrills, without a salty cliche in sight. A splendid debut (KIRKUS REVIEW)

Inspired ... there are moments of humour offset by vivid descriptions of lust, drunkenness, disease and deceit ... an authentic account of early eighteenth-century piracy (HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW)

Book Description:

* An original, authentic novel about 18th century piracy.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780316848084: The Requiem Shark

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0316848085 ISBN 13:  9780316848084
Publisher: Little, Brown, 1999
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2000. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Set in the 18th century s Golden Age of Piracy, THE REQUIEM SHARK is the tale of a young recruit, William Williams and his forced apprenticeship to Bartholomew Roberts, slaver turned pirate Captain. Enlisted first as a musician, then as the Captain s biographer, Williams learns to negotiate the seas of the Caribbean and West Africa recording their conflicts with the merchantmen and whores, tribesmen and soldiers that populated the ends of the known world.Influenced by shipmates, from the learned Dr Scudamore to Innocent, ex-slave and sole member of his own religion, Williams struggles to justify his own position within the Royal Fortune, as the British Navy hunt them down and the fanatical Captain Roberts drives the ship onwards to the ultimate prize - the mysterious treasure ship.Rich in historical detail and based upon the last years of the most successful pirate known to history, THE REQUIEM SHARK is a gripping adventure set in a brutal environment dominated by gold, disease and blood. Seller Inventory # AA29780349111834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.98
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Abacus (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 2000. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # GH9780349111834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.89
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.69
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2000. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. Set in the 18th century's Golden Age of Piracy, THE REQUIEM SHARK is the tale of a young recruit, William Williams and his forced apprenticeship to Bartholomew Roberts, slaver turned pirate Captain. Enlisted first as a musician, then as the Captain's biographer, Williams learns to negotiate the seas of the Caribbean and West Africa recording their conflicts with the merchantmen and whores, tribesmen and soldiers that populated the ends of the known world.Influenced by shipmates, from the learned Dr Scudamore to Innocent, ex-slave and sole member of his own religion, Williams struggles to justify his own position within the Royal Fortune, as the British Navy hunt them down and the fanatical Captain Roberts drives the ship onwards to the ultimate prize - the mysterious treasure ship.Rich in historical detail and based upon the last years of the most successful pirate known to history, THE REQUIEM SHARK is a gripping adventure set in a brutal environment dominated by gold, disease and blood. Seller Inventory # AA29780349111834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.60
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Abacus (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 2000. Paperback. Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Seller Inventory # mon0001644610

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
7.99
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.99
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780349111834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.31
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 6.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Abacus (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 2000. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # ria9780349111834_rkm

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
8.41
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Nicholas Griffin
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0349111839. Seller Inventory # ST0349111839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.75
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Little, Brown Book Group (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Little, Brown Book Group, 2000. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # GB-9780349111834

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
6.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 9
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Nicholas Griffin
Published by Abacus (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 2000. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 368 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0349111839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
9.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 7.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Griffin, Nicholas
Published by Abacus (2000)
ISBN 10: 0349111839 ISBN 13: 9780349111834
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Abacus, 2000. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0349111839

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
15.65
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book