Tone Almhjell The Twistrose Key

ISBN 13: 9780349001661

The Twistrose Key

3.8 avg rating
( 2,013 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780349001661: The Twistrose Key
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Something is wrong in the house that Lin's family has rented; Lin is sure of it. The clocks tick too slowly. Frost covers the flower bed, even in a rain storm. And when a secret key marked 'Twistrose' arrives for her, Lin finds a crack in the cellar, a gate to the world of Sylver.

This frozen realm is the home of every dead animal who ever loved a child. Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with Rufus, the pet she buried under the rosebush. But together they must find the missing Winter Prince that night in order to save Sylver from destruction.

They are not the only ones hunting for the boy. In the dark hides a shadow-lipped man, waiting for this last Winter Prince to be delivered into his hands.

Exhilarating suspense and unforgettable characters awaits the readers of this magical adventure, destined to become a classic.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

a brilliant mix of legend, childhood games... conspiracy, emotion and dangerous adventure, with wonderful illustrations throughout (Juno)

The Twistrose Key is a charming adventure story in the tradition of C S Lewis and Brian Jacques. This is a good, old-fashioned quest of a story and would make a lovely winter read to snuggle up with on a cold, dark night. (We Love This Book)

. . . beautifully written. The dialogue sparkles. The descriptive passages are wonderful. The prose sparkles and dances off the page, creating a truly vivid world. And there's a Scandinavian flavour to it that feels really fresh . . . The Twistrose Key comes highly recommended to all fans of magic aged from 10 and up - and by up, we mean the grown ups too. (The Bookbag)

Skillfully blending facets of classic high fantasy, this debut novel will captivate readers with its rich plot and detailed worldbuilding . . . Fantasy that evokes the classics of yore and stands proudly among them (Kirkus, starred review)

Featured in the Gransnet list of best children's books of 2013 (www.gransnet.com)

. . . my children's book of the year is The Twistrose Key, a dazzling debut by Norwegian writer, Tone Almhjell. She has created the stunning wintery world of Sylver, peopled by human-sized creatures who were all formerly pets. Our heroine, Lin, manages to get into the world using a key marked 'Twistrose', and is reunited with her much missed pet vole, Rufus. The book has a Narnia-esque feel and possesses the plot, pace and dash of a classic. (Lorraine Courtney The Irish Independent)

This exhilarating tale is set in the timeless world of snowy Sylver - a home to every dead animal that ever loved a child. Packed with adventure, there is a surprise on nearly every page. Original and captivating, this story is suitable for both boys and girls who are 11+ and good experienced readers. Adults would enjoy it too I'm sure. This is such a good book that I could not put it down. (Izzy, aged 10 The Sun)

In Tone Almhjell's evocative wintry fantasy The Twistrose Key, Lin grieves for a pet vole who lived in her pocket. One day she enters a snowy world where beloved pets have become human, and sets out to find a lost boy. The plot is complicated but the relationships are touching, with settings of poetic splendour - frozen landscapes, cosy rooms, bustling inns. (The Sunday Times)

Book Description:

Set in the timeless world of snowy Sylver, full of adventure and unforgettable characters, THE TWISTROSE KEY is a story readers everywhere will fall in love with.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780142423455: The Twistrose Key

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0142423459 ISBN 13:  9780142423455
Publisher: Puffin Books, 2014
Softcover

9780803738959: The Twistrose Key

Dial B..., 2013
Hardcover

9780349001678: The Twistrose Key

Little..., 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Almhjell, Tone
Published by Little, Brown Young Readers (2013)
ISBN 10: 0349001669 ISBN 13: 9780349001661
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Setanta Books
(Richmond, United Kingdom)

Book Description Little, Brown Young Readers, 2013. Hardcover. Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First UK edition and impression in new condition, no markings, this is a brand new book, please see pics, jacket in removable protective sleeve, paypal accepted, any questions please get in touch. Seller Inventory # ABE-14836798348

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 12.50
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds