I AM, THEREFORE I THINK: Philosophers Answer Your Questions About Love, Nothingness and Everything Else ...

3.18 avg rating
( 184 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780340923887: I AM, THEREFORE I THINK: Philosophers Answer Your Questions About Love, Nothingness and Everything Else ...
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

What is like to be another person? Why is stupidity not painful? Is it possible for a human ever to do a selfless act? Do chimpanzees really enjoy eating bananas? How can an exception ever prove a rule?

Everyone confronts philosophical issues, so why shouldn't everyone have access to a philosopher? In this wise and witty book, forty philosophers from universities around the world answer real readers' most difficult questions. They address dilemmas and queries on every subject, from adultery and the afterlife, to ethics and existentialism, God, sex, suicide and war. They even address the question, 'Why can't philosophers agree?'

This is an entertaining and jargon-free exploration of the philosophy of everyday life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

'Full of agreeable things ... I warmly recommend it to those who doubt that philosophy has a point' (Roger Scruton)

Book Description:

Smart paperback stocking-filler for fans of WASPS and PENGUINS

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780340937891: I Am, Therefore I Think: Philosophers Answer Your Questions About Love, Nothingness and Everything Else...

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0340937890 ISBN 13:  9780340937891
Publisher: Sceptre, 2007
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alexander George
Published by Sceptre (2007)
ISBN 10: 0340923881 ISBN 13: 9780340923887
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sceptre, 2007. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0340923881

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
50.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alexander George
Published by Sceptre (2007)
ISBN 10: 0340923881 ISBN 13: 9780340923887
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sceptre, 2007. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0340923881

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
58.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds