Items related to Salt Lane

Shaw, William Salt Lane

ISBN 13: 9780316563505

Salt Lane

4.02 avg rating
( 2,263 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316563505: Salt Lane
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

An "excellent," darkly-told crime novel in the tradition of Tana French and Ian Rankin (Wall Street Journal)

Sergeant Alexandra Cupidi is a recent transfer from the London metro police to the rugged Kentish countryside. She's done little to ingratiate herself with her new colleagues, who find her too brash, urban, and--to make matters worse, she investigated her first partner, a veteran detective, and had him arrested on murder charges. Now assigned the brash young Constable Jill Ferriter to look after, she's facing another bizarre case: a woman found floating in local marsh land, dead of no apparent cause.
The case gets even stranger when the detectives contact the victim's next of kin, her son, a high-powered graphic designer living in London. Adopted at the age of two, he'd never known his mother, he tells the detectives, until a homeless womanknocked on his door, claiming to be his mother, just the night before: at the same time her body was being dredged from the water.
Juggling the case, her aging mother, her teenage daughter, and the loneliness of country life, Detective Cupidi must discover who the woman really was, who killed her, and how she managed to reconnect with her long lost son, apparently from beyond the grave.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

PRAISE FOR WILLIAM SHAW AND THE BIRDWATCHER
"One of summer's chilliest thrillers... Shaw's prose still sinks its hooks in."--Entertainment Weekly

"Discreet, thoughtful prose... by its theatrical but moving conclusion, The Birdwatcher... [is] an excellent read."--USA Today

"William Shaw is, quite simply, an outstanding storyteller."--Peter May, Barry Award-winning author of the Lewis Trilogy

"Salt Lane is taut, terrifying and timely; the emotional tension never slackens."--Val McDermid

"William Shaw is one of the great rising talents of UK crime fiction. This is his best book to date, instantly engaging, beautifully written with really well observed and rounded characters."--Peter James

"Excellent....The combination of great characters and a gripping plot will leave readers eager for a sequel."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"DS Alexandra Cupidi is complex, conflicted, and conscientious... Shaw's rattling good writing will hold readers to the very end. Fans of the author's Breen and Tozer series as well as aficionados of atmospheric police procedurals will enjoy this series launch."--Library Journal

"Salt Lane was my introduction to William Shaw, and when I finished it I instantly went to his backlist. He is a meticulous, thoughtful and insightful writer. I can't wait for Sgt. Cupidi's next case."--Sara Paretsky

"A modern crime master.... Shaw scores subtle political points in this atmospheric, state-of-the-nation thriller that, as always, features intricate plotting, realistic dialogue and believable characters."--Natasha Harding, The Sun (UK)

"Excellent.... Reverses readers' expectations: Rather than having all their roots in the distant past, these crimes have more to do with the evils and inequities of the modern world."--Tom Nolan, Wall Street Journal

About the Author:

William Shaw is an award-winning pop culture journalist, who has written regularly for the UK's Observer and Independent, as well as the New York Times. He is the author of the Breen and Tozer series and The Birdwatcher, his previous novel featuring Sergeant Alexandra Cupidi. Shaw lives in Sussex, England.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781786486585: Salt Lane: the superb first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi Investigations

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 178648658X ISBN 13: 9781786486585
Publisher: riverrun, 2019
Softcover

9781786486578: Salt Lane: the superb first book in the DS Alexandra Cupidi Investigations

riverrun, 2018
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ00C0NU_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52ZZZZ00M3S6_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 532ZZZ00L8CG_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 531ZZZ00M4XM_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ00M4LY_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Vital Products
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 536ZZZ00OUWZ_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52YZZZ00L2R6_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # IR-BN-R-9780316563505

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.16
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.97
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

Shaw, William
Published by Mulholland Books (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: 10
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780316563505

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
17.73
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4.98
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

Shaw, William
Published by Hachette Book Group (2018)
ISBN 10: 0316563501 ISBN 13: 9780316563505
New Hardcover Quantity: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0316563501

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 13.70
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book