Items related to The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: 1 (Baby...

The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: 1 (Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation)

3.75 avg rating
( 7,103 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316386821: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: 1 (Baby Ganesh Agency Investigation)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries.

The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved. And the second is a baby elephant.

As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.

And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"A winning debut...Khan's affection for Mumbai and its residents adds to the novel's charm."--Publishers Weekly

"Debut Mumbai-based 'cosy' - complete with baby elephant - keeps things heart-warming while tackling corruption at the highest levels and violent crime at the lowest. Endearing and gripping, it sets up Inspector Chopra - and the elephant - for a long series."--Sunday Times

"An enchanting start to a new series."--Woman & Home

"The deep love for Mumbai and its people - warts and all - that Inspector Chopra shares with his creator infuses the novel from the beginning. The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra is certainly a delightful and uplifting crime caper, but it also comes with an edifying dose of serious social comment, with many of Chopra's preoccupations mirroring those of his creator."--The Bookseller

"An entertaining feel-good read in the tradition of Alexander McCall Smith.... Utterly charming."--Guardian

"Thought-provoking mystery... promising debut."--Booklist

"A fantastic and heartwarming read... I can't wait to see what happens next!"--First for Women

"Smoothly combines an affable lead, a seemingly impossible crime, and an endearing and highly unusual sidekick-a baby elephant named Ganesha.... Fans of Alexander McCall Smith will find a lot to like."-- Publishers Weekly on The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in the Crown

Book Description:

In this Indian-set mystery, Inspector Chopra inherits an elephant and an unsolved murder on his last day at work. A joyful, charming read for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Harold Fry.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781473612280: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: Baby Ganesh Agency Book 1 (Baby Ganesh series)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 1473612284 ISBN 13: 9781473612280
Publisher: Mulholland Books, 2015
Softcover

9781473612266: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: Baby Ganesh Agency Book 1

Mulhol..., 2015
Hardcover

9781473612273: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra: Baby Ganesh Agency Book 1

Mulhol..., 2015
Softcover

9781473630284: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Seller Image

1.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Soft Cover Quantity: 20
Seller:
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, U.S.A.)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780316386821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.17
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Ebooksweb
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 52GZZZ009EFO_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

3.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Qwestbooks
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 535ZZZ000P7S_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

4.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # 532ZZZ000P7T_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

5.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
Booklot
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. . Seller Inventory # ZR-9780316386821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
11.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

6.

Vaseem Khan
Published by REDHOOK, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries. The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved. And the second is a baby elephant. As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought. And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. . . Seller Inventory # AAC9780316386821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

7.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # 0316386820

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
12.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

8.

Vaseem Khan
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Paperback Quantity: 1
Seller:
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)

Book Description Paperback. Condition: new. Paperback. On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries. The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved. And the second is a baby elephant. As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought. And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs. Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. Seller Inventory # 9780316386821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
13.32
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Seller Image

9.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Soft Cover Quantity: 20
Seller:
V-King
(Slough, United Kingdom)

Book Description Soft Cover. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # 9780316386821

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
10.80
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

10.

Khan, Vaseem
Published by Redhook (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316386820 ISBN 13: 9780316386821
New Softcover Quantity: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Seller Inventory # 0316386820-2-1

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.67
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book