The Secret Game: A Basketball Story in Black and White

4.21 avg rating
( 305 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780316244619: The Secret Game: A Basketball Story in Black and White
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

[ Secret Game: A Wartime Story of Courage, Change, and Basketball's Lost Triumph By ( Author ) Mar-2015 Hardcover

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Riveting." "Kevin Nance, Chicago Tribune""

"Amazing." "Robert Gray, "Shelf Awareness"""

"Ellsworth tells their story in the vein of Seabiscuit" and The Boys in the Boat."... He reminds us who heroes are and what they can be." "Daniel Solzman, "The Kentucky Democrat"""

"Ellsworth tells their story in the vein of "Seabiscuit" and "The Boys in the Boat."... He reminds us who heroes are and what they can be." "Daniel Solzman, "The Kentucky Democrat"""

"Engrossing..." "Chris Skaugset, The Daily News"""

"[The Secret Game] should be read by anyone with an interest in basketball history, or American sports history. Or maybe even American history for that matter." "Bill Reynolds, "Providence Journal"""

"Engrossing..." "Chris Skaugset, "The Daily News"""

"The book is about far more than a single game.... Ellsworth provides a riveting account....It is a mark of his skill as a writer that by the last page, the reader cares less about the final score than about the broader questions that he raises -- whether sports really do build character, whether winning is all that matters, and when it's OK to break the rules." "Chris Lydgate, "The Oregonian"""

One of The Chicago Tribune's Best Books of the Year
One of Sports Illustrated's Best Sports Books of the Year
Winner of the 2016 PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sports Writing
"A powerful book that is a page-turner from start to finish.... Ellsworth has written an important book that should appeal to people of all colors." "Bob D'Angelo, "Tampa Tribune"""

"Riveting." "Kevin Nance, "Chicago Tribune"""

Book Description:

In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Blind Side, a riveting account of how sports can transcend social taboos.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780316244626: The Secret Game: A Basketball Story in Black and White: A Wartime Story of Courage, Change, and Basketball's Lost Triumph

Featured Edition

ISBN 10: 0316244627 ISBN 13: 9780316244626
Publisher: Back Bay, 2016
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

Stock Image

1.

Scott Ellsworth
Published by Little, Brown and Company
ISBN 10: 0316244619 ISBN 13: 9780316244619
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GoldBooks
(Austin, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Little, Brown and Company. Condition: new. Seller Inventory # think0316244619

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
28.43
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds
Stock Image

2.

Ellsworth, Scott
Published by Little, Brown and Company (2015)
ISBN 10: 0316244619 ISBN 13: 9780316244619
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Little, Brown and Company, 2015. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0316244619

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
26.06
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 15.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds