Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons: A Dixie Hemingway Mystery (Dixie Hemingway Mysteries)

4.06 avg rating
( 1,073 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780312532543: Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons: A Dixie Hemingway Mystery (Dixie Hemingway Mysteries)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Title: Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons( A Dixie Hemingway Mystery) <>Binding: Mass Market Paperback <>Author: BlaizeClement <>Publisher: MinotaurBooks

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"Another enjoyable tale from Blaize Clement." --Kirkus Reviews on RAINING CAT SITTERS AND DOGS

"Smooth prose, a lush background...a fine-feathered read." --Publishers Weekly on RAINING CAT SITTERS AND DOGS

"Thoughtful and compelling." --Publishers Weekly on CAT SITTER ON A HOT TIN ROOF

"A feel-good [series]...Recommend this one for readers who liked the southern setting and animal characters in Joyce and Jim Lavene's The Telltale Turtle." --Booklist on CAT SITTER ON A HOT TIN ROOF

"Gutsy, sexy...Dixie is Siesta Key's favorite pet sitter." --Sarasota Herald-Tribune on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

"Blends elements of cozy and thriller to produce an unusual and enjoyable hybrid . . . sure to delight readers." --Publishers Weekly on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

"For fans of Susan Conant and Clea Simon." --Library Journal on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

"Ingenious...captivating. Here is a series that even people who dislike pet mysteries can enjoy." --Reviewing the Evidence on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

"Will have readers begging for more treats." --Lansing State Journal on EVEN CAT SITTERS GET THE BLUES

"Fast paced...the canine caper crowd will enjoy Florida's leading pet-sitter." --Midwest Book Review on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

"Clement's fast-paced sophomore effort...builds suspense and delivers startling revelations." --Publishers Weekly on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

"A fast-paced novel, an intriguing plot. Clement also infuses this entertaining story with a thoughtful meditation on death, survival, and moving on. It's a lesson the animals in our lives already know." --Richmond Times-Dispatch on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

"Don't let the cutesy title fool you. This isn't one of those lightweight, frothy 'fun with animals' stories... It's tough, gritty, and edgy. One of the strongest points of Clement's work is her knack for building suspense slowly but steadily, to the point where you have no idea what peril might be lurking just around the bend." --Sarasota Herald-Tribune on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

"Clement uses the animals in Dixie's care...to enrich her plot, creating in the process an entertaining cozy, one of the few set in South Florida, land of noir." --Booklist on DUPLICITY DOGGED THE DACHSHUND

"A knockout read." --Laurien Berenson, author of Doggie Day Care Murder on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"Clement's assured cozy debut introduces an appealing heroine." --Publishers Weekly on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"Impressive...a sure keeper, with well-developed characters, seamless prose, and a winning plot...[a] commendable new series." --Mystery Lovers.com on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"A first-rate debut." --Booklist on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"Entertaining...Dixie is a complex, well-conceived character and the plot fast-moving and believable." --Kirkus Reviews on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"At once a cozy mystery for animal lovers and a jarringly earthy hard-boiled whodunit about human corruption. Clement's sleuth, Florida pet-sitter Dixie Hemingway, is an engaging combination of vulnerability and toughness, but the real heroine of the story is a gritty Abyssinian cat. A good read!" --Susan Conant, author of All Shots and the Holly Winter Dog Lover's Mysteries on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"Kick off your flip-flops, find a hammock, and settle in for a fun read. Clement's Floridian heroine, Dixie Hemingway, spouts laugh-out-loud one-liners and words of wisdom in this intriguing whodunit filled with twists, turns, and some pretty captivating critters!" --Cynthia Baxter, author of Murder Packs a Suitcase on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"Funny, engaging, and true to life." --Lee Charles Kelly, author of Like a Dog with a Bone on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"Curiosity Killed the Cat-Sitter has it all: a feisty heroine, lovable animals, and a solid whodunit. What more could you ask for?" --Barbara Seranella, creator of the Munch Mancini crime novels on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"A fantastic who-done-it . . . Fans of fast-paced clever mysteries will appreciate Dixie's efforts to uncover the culprit before she either goes to jail or dies." --Harriet Klausner Reviews on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"A new star in the 'mysteries with animals' firmament...this book stands out in the genre for its plotting, pacing, and well formed characters, in addition to an enticing tropical locale." --The Kingston Observer (Kingston, MA) on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

"A keeper, with its plucky protagonist, cats galore, and a nice sense of place." --Library Journal on CURIOSITY KILLED THE CAT SITTER

From the Back Cover:

No mission is impawsible for Dixie Hemingway in

CAT SITTER AMONG THE PIGEONS

Former Florida police officer turned pet-sitting sleuth is once again on the prowl. Dixie—no relation to you-know-who—is helping an elderly gentleman, Mr. Stern, take care of his orange shorthair cat, Cheddar. But it’s Stern’s infant granddaughter, Opal, who really wins Dixie’s heart. Problem is that Opal’s mother, Ruby, has some dangerous connections to certain local big-money honchos. Ruby has enough insider information to send them to prison for life...and they are willing to do anything, even threaten Opal’s life, to shut her up and preserve their ill-gotten gains. Now it’s up to Dixie to protect Opal from harm—at all costs. And she must do it without letting law-enforcement people know—not even Detective Guidry, with whom she happens to be romantically involved. Does Dixie have her claws sunk in too deep to make it out of this one? Or are her nine lives finally up?

“Dixie’s latest adventure keeps you glued to your seat from the first chapter.”
Kirkus Reviews

“For anyone who loves mysteries, animals, or just plain great writing.”
—Laurien Berenson, author of
Doggie Day Care Murder

“Dixie is Florida’s favorite pet sitter.”
Sarasota Herald-Tribune

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780312643126: Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons (Dixie Hemingway Mysteries)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0312643128 ISBN 13:  9780312643126
Publisher: Minotaur Books, 2011
Hardcover

9781250063090: CAT SITTER AMONG THE PIGEONS (Dixie Hemingway Mysteries (Paperback))

Griffin, 2011
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Clement, Blaize
Published by Minotaur Books
ISBN 10: 0312532547 ISBN 13: 9780312532543
New MASS MARKET PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Monky Business: briansmonky
(Worcester, MA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Minotaur Books. MASS MARKET PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0312532547 Ask about discounted shipping available when multiple items purchased at the same time. FAST, RELIABLE, GUARANTEED and happily SHIPPED WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY!. Seller Inventory # MX18-0279

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
1.55
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.28
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Clement, Blaize
Published by Minotaur Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0312532547 ISBN 13: 9780312532543
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2011. Paperback. Condition: BRAND NEW. Seller Inventory # 0312532547_abe_bn

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
5.45
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Blaize Clement
Published by Minotaur Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0312532547 ISBN 13: 9780312532543
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0312532547

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
14.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.63
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Blaize Clement
Published by Minotaur Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0312532547 ISBN 13: 9780312532543
New Mass Market Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)

Book Description Minotaur Books, 2011. Mass Market Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Seller Inventory # DADAX0312532547

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
37.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Blaize Clement
ISBN 10: 0312532547 ISBN 13: 9780312532543
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # M-0312532547

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
55.42
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.77
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds