Eliza Granville Gretel and the Dark

ISBN 13: 9780241146453

Gretel and the Dark

3.6 avg rating
( 1,792 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780241146453: Gretel and the Dark
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope.

For fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth.

Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance.

Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed . . .

Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Powerful, heartbreaking, heart-racing, terrifying . . . It is impossible not to find yourself racing through the pages (The Times)

Atmospheric and beautifully written. Gretel and the Dark will be one of the best books of 2014 (The List)

Dark and intriguing . . . a highly clever, original book (Daily Mail)

Ambitious and enticing (Independent)

Truly beautiful writing. Read this book (Guardian)

A back-and-forth tale of secrets and imagination, a thoroughly engaging journey into the darkest corners of humanity (Publishers Weekly)

As dark and twisting as the Black Forest . . . forbidding, secretive, richly historical, this is a gripping novel that will leave you guessing until the end (Historical Novel Society)

This combination of history, mystery and fairy tale makes for engrossing and irresistible reading - right up to the ultimately redemptive final twist (Bookpage (U.S.))

Grips and shakes the reader from beginning to end. Like so many fairy tales, nothing is what it seems and attention must be paid for the greatest rewards (Gilmore Guide to Books (blog))

Extraordinary. Granville's writing and world building are beautiful. (The Mountains of Instead (blog))

About the Author:

Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and now lives in the Welsh Marches. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9781594633959: Gretel and the Dark

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  1594633959 ISBN 13:  9781594633959
Publisher: Riverhead Books, 2016
Softcover

9780241146460: Gretel and the Dark

Penguin, 2015
Softcover

9781594632556: Gretel and the Dark

Riverh..., 2014
Hardcover

9780241967348: Gretel & the Dark

Penguin, 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Eliza Granville
Published by Hamish Hamilton Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 0241146453 ISBN 13: 9780241146453
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hamish Hamilton Ltd, 2014. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0241146453

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
56.36
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds