The Pawnbroker (Harvest/HBJ Book)

3.92 avg rating
( 403 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780156714228: The Pawnbroker (Harvest/HBJ Book)

Sol Nazerman survived the Holocaust. His wife and children did not -he witnessed their murder in a concentration camp. He is now a Harlem pawnbroker, emotionally dead and indifferent to the desperation around him, running his shop as a front for a racketeer. Made into an Academy Award-winning film starring Rod Steiger, this is one of the most moving pieces in modern fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

"In the short time [Wallant] was writing - about three years wherein he considered himself and was considered a serious writer - he was counted as part of a brilliant group of postwar Jewish American writers - Saul Bellow, Bernard Malamud, Norman Mailer and Philip Roth among them. That Wallant died so young, unable to travel on with these writers, is criminal, especially given how prolific he was. But the novels he finished in his short life are all miniature masterpieces." -- Dave Eggers
"[R]eminiscent of Dostoevski....on every count ["The Pawnbroker"] deserves the attention of every serious reader."--Thomas Lask, "The New York Times"
"Wallant has...written an honest and moving book about human experience at its most dismal." --R. D. Spector, "New York Herald Tribune"
"Edward Lewis Wallant is a gifted writer who probes with a kind of troubled tenderness into pools of human darkness." --David Boroff, "Saturday Review"
"Sol Nazerman, the erudite Shylock of Harlem, is a creature of fasicnating complexity....he is that literary rarity--the character whose sorrows seem as real as the reader's own." --"TIME" magazine
"Well written and painfully memorable." --George Adelman, "Library Journal"
"No contemporary novelist was more gifted in the sheer grace of constructing a novel...." --Charles Alva Hoyt
"an American naturalist in the tradition of Dreiser and Norris...." --Robert W. Lewis

In the short time [Wallant] was writing - about three years wherein he considered himself and was considered a serious writer - he was counted as part of a brilliant group of postwar Jewish American writers - Saul Bellow, Bernard Malamud, Norman Mailer and Philip Roth among them. That Wallant died so young, unable to travel on with these writers, is criminal, especially given how prolific he was. But the novels he finished in his short life are all miniature masterpieces. Dave Eggers
[R]eminiscent of Dostoevski....on every count [ The Pawnbroker] deserves the attention of every serious reader. Thomas Lask, The New York Times
Wallant has...written an honest and moving book about human experience at its most dismal. R. D. Spector, New York Herald Tribune
Edward Lewis Wallant is a gifted writer who probes with a kind of troubled tenderness into pools of human darkness. David Boroff, Saturday Review
Sol Nazerman, the erudite Shylock of Harlem, is a creature of fasicnating complexity....he is that literary raritythe character whose sorrows seem as real as the reader s own. TIME magazine
Well written and painfully memorable. George Adelman, Library Journal
"[T]he book gains energy from its plot, which involves a mobster and a planned robbery that puts Sol in an awful position that Wallant thoughtfully interrogates throughout: how do you trustfully navigate the world when you ve experienced the worst that people are capable of?" Kirkus Reviews
No contemporary novelist was more gifted in the sheer grace of constructing a novel.... Charles Alva Hoyt
an American naturalist in the tradition of Dreiser and Norris.... Robert W. Lewis
We don t need to imagine how shocking The Pawnbroker must have been to readers in the early 1960s because it is still that shocking to us. Without a trace of sentimentality, Edward Lewis Wallant wrote the Great American Novel of Redemption. Before anyone else, he showed us that only by recognizing in others the face of human suffering could the individual survivorwhether male or female, Jewish, black, or Puerto Ricantranscend his or her inheritance of trauma and pain." Eileen Pollack, author of In the Mouth and Breaking and Entering
"Post-Holocaust novel par excellence. Timeless and well ahead of its time. Lose yourself in Wallant's lyrically imbued world of traumatic memories and its collision with contemporary life." Thane Rosenbaum, author of The Golems of Gotham, Second Hand Smoke, and Elijah Visible
"

About the Author:

When he died at 36 in December 1962, Edward Lewis Wallant had published two novels: The Human Season (1960), which received the Harry and Ethel Daroff Memorial Fiction Award for the year's best novel on a Jewish theme, and The Pawnbroker (1961), which was nominated for the National Book Award and secured Wallant a Guggenheim Fellowship. Two additional novels--The Children at the Gate and Moonbloom--were published posthumously. The Daroff Award was subsequently re-named in Wallant's honor. The Edward Lewis Wallant Award is now presented annually at the University of Hartford in the late author's native Connecticut; recipients have included Chaim Potok, Cynthia Ozick, Francine Prose, and Dara Horn. Dara Horn is the author of four widely acclaimed novels and the recipient of honors including the National Jewish Book Award, the Reform Judaism Fiction Prize, the Harold U. Ribalow Prize, and the Edward Lewis Wallant Award. She earned a PhD in comparative literature from Harvard University and has taught courses in Jewish literature and Israeli history at Sarah Lawrence College and The City University of New York; in 2014, she held the Gerald Weinstock Visiting Professorship in Jewish Studies at Harvard, where she taught Yiddish and Hebrew literature. She lives in New Jersey with her husband and four children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Edward Lewis Wallant
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich (1978)
ISBN 10: 0156714221 ISBN 13: 9780156714228
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1978. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0156714221

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
32.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Edward Lewis Wallant
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich (1978)
ISBN 10: 0156714221 ISBN 13: 9780156714228
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1978. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1st. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0156714221

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
31.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wallant, Edward Lewis
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich
ISBN 10: 0156714221 ISBN 13: 9780156714228
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0156714221 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0068111

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
33.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 4
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Edward Lewis Wallant
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich (1978)
ISBN 10: 0156714221 ISBN 13: 9780156714228
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1978. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110156714221

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
42.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.40
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Edward Lewis Wallant
ISBN 10: 0156714221 ISBN 13: 9780156714228
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801567142281.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
88.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds