The Dark Tower, and Other Stories (Harvest Book; Hb354)

3.67 avg rating
( 1,527 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780156239301: The Dark Tower, and Other Stories (Harvest Book; Hb354)

A repackaged edition of the revered author's definitive collection of short fiction, which explores enduring spiritual and science fiction themes such as space, time, reality, fantasy, God, and the fate of humankind.

From C.S. Lewis--the great British writer, scholar, lay theologian, broadcaster, Christian apologist, and author of Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Chronicles of Narnia, and many other beloved classics--comes a collection of his dazzling short fiction.

This collection of futuristic fiction includes a breathtaking science fiction story written early in his career in which Cambridge intellectuals witness the breach of space-time through a chronoscope--a telescope that looks not just into another world, but into another time.

As powerful, inventive, and profound as his theological and philosophical works, The Dark Tower reveals another side of Lewis's creative mind and his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. It is ideal reading for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis's longtime friend and colleague.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was one of the intellectual giants of the twentieth century and arguably one of the most influential writers of his day. He was a Fellow and Tutor in English Literature at Oxford University until 1954, when he was unanimously elected to the Chair of Medieval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge University, a position he held until his retirement. He wrote more than thirty books, allowing him to reach a vast audience, and his works continue to attract thousands of new readers every year. His most distinguished and popular accomplishments include Out of the Silent Planet, The Great Divorce, The Screwtape Letters, and the universally acknowledged classics The Chronicles of Narnia. To date, the Narnia books have sold over 100 million copies and have been transformed into three major motion pictures.

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) fue uno de los intelectuales mas importantes del siglo veinte y podria decirse que fue el escritor cristiano mas influyente de su tiempo. Fue profesor particular de literatura inglesa y miembro de la junta de gobierno en la Universidad Oxford hasta 1954, cuando fue nombrado profesor de literatura medieval y renacentista en la Universidad Cambridge, cargo que desempeno hasta que se jubilo. Sus contribuciones a la critica literaria, literatura infantil, literatura fantastica y teologia popular le trajeron fama y aclamacion a nivel internacional. C. S. Lewis escribio mas de treinta libros, lo cual le permitio alcanzar una enorme audiencia, y sus obras aun atraen a miles de nuevos lectores cada ano. Sus mas distinguidas y populares obras incluyen Las Cronicas de Narnia, Los Cuatro Amores, Cartas del Diablo a Su Sobrino y Mero Cristianismo.

From the Back Cover:

From the beloved writer of classic novels like The Screwtape Letters and Till We Have Faces comes a collection of C. S. Lewis's short fiction published after his death.

This anthology of futuristic fiction reveals another side of Lewis's creative work on reality and spirituality, from a science fiction story about Cambridge intellectuals witnessing the breach of space-time to a short story about a blind man chasing the idea of light. Though many of the pieces are unfinished, they provide great wisdom about the nature of reality. As The Times Literary Supplement noted upon The Dark Tower's publication, "finished, it might have been his best."

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

C. S. Lewis
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich (1977)
ISBN 10: 0156239302 ISBN 13: 9780156239301
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1977. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0156239302

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lewis, C. S.
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich (1977)
ISBN 10: 0156239302 ISBN 13: 9780156239301
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1977. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0156239302

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

C. S. Lewis
ISBN 10: 0156239302 ISBN 13: 9780156239301
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97801562393011.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.07
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lewis, C. S.
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich (1977)
ISBN 10: 0156239302 ISBN 13: 9780156239301
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1977. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110156239302

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
21.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lewis C. S.
Published by Cram101 Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0156239302 ISBN 13: 9780156239301
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Majestic Books
(London, ,, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Cram101 Incorporated. Book Condition: New. pp. 168. Bookseller Inventory # 95427333

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
40.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 5.52
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Lewis, C. S.
Published by Harcourt Brace Jovanovich
ISBN 10: 0156239302 ISBN 13: 9780156239301
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace Jovanovich. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0156239302 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1051178

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
47.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.84
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds