Chasing the Devil's Tail: A Mystery of Storyville, New Orleans (Harvest Book)

3.68 avg rating
( 613 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780156027281: Chasing the Devil's Tail: A Mystery of Storyville, New Orleans (Harvest Book)

Not New Orleans, but Storyville 'noir'and all that jazz!

1907 Storyville. Cultures, races, and religions more often blend than clash in a rich gumbo only New Orleans could serve up. But trouble brews. In this red light district, prostitutes ply their trade whether in cramped cribs or elegant houses of French ancestry, while music surges through its streets and helps harmonize the light and dark elements. King Bolden rules the Storyville brass with his golden coronet and his gift jasser to blow a riff on the city's music that pulses with new rhythms and notes. But the real King of Storyville is Tom Anderson, the distric's powerful property owner and political fixer, who employs Creole detective Valentin St. Cyr to dig into the deaths of a string of prostitutes. Each victim is found with a black rose. Is a serial killer leaving a calling card? Is King Bolden losing his mind as he stretches his genius to its limits? Why is an elderly priest sent away under care?

"This brilliant debut noir captures a time and place so perfectly the reader will resent each time he has to lay it aside..." - Barbara Peters

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

In New Orleans' red light district in the early twentieth century, politician Tom Anderson hires Creole detective Valentin St. Cyr to investigate the deaths of several prostitutes, each of whom is found with a black rose.

Review:

"In the tradition of "The Alienist, Chasing the Devil's Tail "gives us top-notch suspense fiction in a delightfully evocative and harrowing time and place: New Orleans' Storyville at the beginning of the twentieth century. We immediately fall under the author's spell and are soon roaming the authentic haunts of that neighborhood in the company of his characters, some good and some not so, but all wonderfully colorful and as real as the blues." --Jeffery Deaver, author of "The Bone Collector, The Blue Nowhere" and "Speaking in Tongues.""The mystery is a good one, satisfyingly resolved. The characters are memorable and the period is brilliantly recaptured. If Fulmer, a documentary film producer, has plans for future stories about St. Cyr and his real and imaginary Fourth Ward cronies, they'd be more than welcome here." --Dick Lochte, "LA TImes""[Fulmer's] first fiction, which features a fascinating plot line and pervasive New Orleans atmosphere, is an outstanding historical." --"Library Journal"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

David Fulmer
ISBN 10: 0156027283 ISBN 13: 9780156027281
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SE5E00064W

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 0.79
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

David Fulmer
Published by Mariner Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0156027283 ISBN 13: 9780156027281
New Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. First Edition (first pb). Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0156027283

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.15
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

David Fulmer
Published by Harvest Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0156027283 ISBN 13: 9780156027281
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harvest Books, 2003. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0156027283

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
13.22
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

David Fulmer
Published by Harvest Books (2003)
ISBN 10: 0156027283 ISBN 13: 9780156027281
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harvest Books, 2003. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110156027283

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
34.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.36
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds