Spirits of the Ordinary: A Tale of Casas Grandes

3.33 avg rating
( 84 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780156005685: Spirits of the Ordinary: A Tale of Casas Grandes

This “strong and finely rendered book” (Larry McMurtry) takes us to the Mexican-american border in the 1870s, conjuring up a magical tale of faith, gold, and family passions that “echoes the style of Isabel Allende and Laura Esquivel” (Washington Post Book World). Winner of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Book Award.

A spectacular tapestry of folklore, spirituality, and landscape, this extraordinary first novel vividly blurs fantasy and reality as it details one family's search for identity. In a small village in northern Mexico, the Carabajals have long been practicing their Jewish faith in secret. The father, Julio, spends his days dabbling with alchemy. His wife, Mariana, cannot speak but is clairvoyant. Their son has allied himself with a Catholic woman and is obsessed with his search for gold. Central to the surprising destinies of these characters are the momentous events and the ancient and sacred cliff dwellings of Casas Grandes, high in the mountains. This story of two cultures, of the elusive bonds of love and faith, is dazzling in its originality. It is for all readers who loved Allende's The House of Spirits or Esquivel's Like Water for Chocolate.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Kathleen Alcalá's first novel, Spirits of the Ordinary, opens in 1870s Mexico where Zacarias Caraval abandons his family and the religion of his fathers--Judaism--to search for gold in the desert. His wife, Estela, responds by declaring herself independent and taking a lover--an action frowned upon in the small village of Saltillo. Zacarias's wanderings take him into the mountains of Northern Mexico and to the cliff dwellings of Casas Grandes, where he witnesses a massacre--an event that will have a profound affect on him and will eventually send him back to the faith he has abandoned. Spirits of the Ordinary is the first book of a projected trilogy and judging by the quality of Ms. Alcalá's work so far, the next two volumes will be eagerly awaited.

About the Author:

Kathleen Alcala is the author of Mrs. Vargas and the Dead Naturalist and Spirits of the Ordinary, a highly praised novel that received the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Assocaition Book Award.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alcala, Kathleen
Published by Harvest Books
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harvest Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0156005689 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GHT6553KBGG071017H0022

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alcala, Kathleen
Published by MARINER BOOKS (1998)
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description MARINER BOOKS, 1998. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IP-9780156005685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kathleen Alcala
Published by Harcourt Brace International, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace International, United States, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Harvest.. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.This strong and finely rendered book (Larry McMurtry) takes us to the Mexican-american border in the 1870s, conjuring up a magical tale of faith, gold, and family passions that echoes the style of Isabel Allende and Laura Esquivel (Washington Post Book World). Winner of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Book Award. A spectacular tapestry of folklore, spirituality, and landscape, this extraordinary first novel vividly blurs fantasy and reality as it details one family s search for identity. In a small village in northern Mexico, the Carabajals have long been practicing their Jewish faith in secret. The father, Julio, spends his days dabbling with alchemy. His wife, Mariana, cannot speak but is clairvoyant. Their son has allied himself with a Catholic woman and is obsessed with his search for gold. Central to the surprising destinies of these characters are the momentous events and the ancient and sacred cliff dwellings of Casas Grandes, high in the mountains. This story of two cultures, of the elusive bonds of love and faith, is dazzling in its originality. It is for all readers who loved Allende s The House of Spirits or Esquivel s Like Water for Chocolate. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780156005685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alcala, Kathleen
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Item doesn't include CD/DVD. Bookseller Inventory # 1121274

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kathleen Alcala
Published by Harcourt Brace International, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Brace International, United States, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Harvest.. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. This strong and finely rendered book (Larry McMurtry) takes us to the Mexican-american border in the 1870s, conjuring up a magical tale of faith, gold, and family passions that echoes the style of Isabel Allende and Laura Esquivel (Washington Post Book World). Winner of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Book Award. A spectacular tapestry of folklore, spirituality, and landscape, this extraordinary first novel vividly blurs fantasy and reality as it details one family s search for identity. In a small village in northern Mexico, the Carabajals have long been practicing their Jewish faith in secret. The father, Julio, spends his days dabbling with alchemy. His wife, Mariana, cannot speak but is clairvoyant. Their son has allied himself with a Catholic woman and is obsessed with his search for gold. Central to the surprising destinies of these characters are the momentous events and the ancient and sacred cliff dwellings of Casas Grandes, high in the mountains. This story of two cultures, of the elusive bonds of love and faith, is dazzling in its originality. It is for all readers who loved Allende s The House of Spirits or Esquivel s Like Water for Chocolate. Bookseller Inventory # APC9780156005685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alcala, Kathleen
Published by Harvest Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 9
Print on Demand
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harvest Books, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 0156005689

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.30
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kathleen Alcala
Published by Mariner Books
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 256 pages. Dimensions: 7.8in. x 5.6in. x 0.6in.This strong and finely rendered book (Larry McMurtry) takes us to the Mexican-american border in the 1870s, conjuring up a magical tale of faith, gold, and family passions that echoes the style of Isabel Allende and Laura Esquivel (Washington Post Book World). Winner of the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Book Award. A spectacular tapestry of folklore, spirituality, and landscape, this extraordinary first novel vividly blurs fantasy and reality as it details one familys search for identity. In a small village in northern Mexico, the Carabajals have long been practicing their Jewish faith in secret. The father, Julio, spends his days dabbling with alchemy. His wife, Mariana, cannot speak but is clairvoyant. Their son has allied himself with a Catholic woman and is obsessed with his search for gold. Central to the surprising destinies of these characters are the momentous events and the ancient and sacred cliff dwellings of Casas Grandes, high in the mountains. This story of two cultures, of the elusive bonds of love and faith, is dazzling in its originality. It is for all readers who loved Allendes The House of Spirits or Esquivels Like Water for Chocolate. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780156005685

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.03
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Alcala, Kathleen
Published by Harcourt, Orlando, Florida, U.S.A. (1998)
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Trade Paperback Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dan A. Domike
(Hoquiam, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt, Orlando, Florida, U.S.A., 1998. Trade Paperback. Book Condition: New. Signed by the author on the title page. In new, unread condition with bright pages. Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # 006936

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.26
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kathleen Alcala
Published by Harvest Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harvest Books, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0156005689

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
14.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kathleen Alcala
Published by Mariner Books (1998)
ISBN 10: 0156005689 ISBN 13: 9780156005685
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mariner Books, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0156005689

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
12.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.06
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book