Childrens Jane Yolen Animal Fare: Poems

ISBN 13: 9780152035501

Animal Fare: Poems

3.17 avg rating
( 6 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780152035501: Animal Fare: Poems

An award-winning author and poet joins the illustrator of Raining Cats and Dogs for a picture-book collection of animal nonsense poems featuring the Hippopotanoose, the bulging Blimpanzee, and other silly creatures.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From Kirkus Reviews:

In the tradition of Lear, Carroll, and Seuss, pure nonsense: 16 deftly fashioned rhymes about newly imagined animals. ``The wherewolf lives in Transylvania,/The whenwolf lives in Ruritania,/The whowolf lives in Pennsylvania....And each one drives men quite insania/With his whild and whorrible song.'' Though not all equally inventive (``The Sprinkler Spaniel,'' though neatly scanned, is pretty obvious), the wit is sustained with rare success; there's a sprightly ``Telephant'' updating Laura E. Richards's ``Eletelephony'' as well as ``a lumpy cuss'' of a ``Camelephant'' (``He cannot cross a desert waste,/He cannot cross the jungle./It's clear that evolution has,/In his case, made a bungle''). As she did for Yolen's Raining Cats and Dogs (1993), Street provides pen-and-watercolor spreads in bright, airy colors; her raffish visualizations of such useful concoctions as the ``Giraft'' (``periscope necks fore and aft'') and the ``Hippopotanoose'' are a hoot. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-8) -- Copyright ©1994, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

From Booklist:

Gr. 3-5, younger for reading aloud. Puns have great appeal, and in this collection of 16 nonsense verses about animals--from the Hippopotanoose to the Whysel--the silly play is with sound, sense, and illustration. There's "The Mocket Bird" ("The Xerox of the forest / The mimic of the glen"). Then there's the Wherewolf and the Whenwolf. One of the best is the "Rhinocerworse" ("His mother is a meany, His father is a bum"). The illustrations of the monsters in garish watercolors are full of slapstick and distortion, as in that of the Giraft with its periscope neck afloat on the ocean. The book jacket flap recommends this as a collection for the very young, but some of the wordplay may be for the more sophisticated; not many preschoolers will get the joke about the Overgazealous, for example. It's middle-grade punsters who will respond to the humor, and some will want to try out their own menagerie wordplay. Hazel Rochman

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Yolen, Jane
Published by Harcourt Childrens Books (J) (1994)
ISBN 10: 0152035508 ISBN 13: 9780152035501
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harcourt Childrens Books (J), 1994. Library Binding. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110152035508

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
33.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds