Ablutions: Notes for a Novel

3.61 avg rating
( 3,145 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780151014989: Ablutions: Notes for a Novel

A nameless barman tends a decaying bar in Hollywood and takes notes for a book about his clientele. Initially, he is morbidly amused by watching the regulars roll in and fall into their nightly oblivion, pitying them and their loneliness. In hopes of uncovering their secrets and motives, he establishes tentative friendships with them. He also knocks back pills indiscriminately and treats himself to gallons of Jameson's. But as his tenure at the bar continues, he begins to lose himself, trapped by addiction and indecision. When his wife leaves him, he embarks on a series of squalidly random sexual encounters and a downward spiral of self-damage and irrational violence. To cleanse himself and save his soul, he attempts to escape ...

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

The compelling début novel from the Booker Prize shortlisted author of The Sisters Brothers In a seedy bar in Hollywood, a whiskey-loving barman is drawn into the nocturnal world of his sociopathic clientele, with their squabbles, delusions, and bizarre acts of violence. In this brilliantly funny portrait of addiction and its consequences, escape offers the only chance of survival. Utterly absorbing and surprisingly tender, Ablutions is a startlingly bold and original début. This recording is unabridged. Typically abridged audiobooks are not more than 60% of the author's work and as low as 30% with characters and plotlines removed.

Review:

PRAISE FOR"ABLUTIONS" ..". dark and provocative ... deWitt has painted a portrait of the human condition ... And ABLUTIONS has achieved something remarkable." --"The New York Times Book Review"..". deWitt's writing is sharp and bitter and funny ... " --"Los Angeles Times""DeWitt's dirty realism makes me want to roll in the mud with him. Brilliant." --Gary Shteyngart, author of"Absurdistan" "Viciously hilarious ... deWitt's portrayal of the drinking life is staunchly unromantic." --"Time Out New York"(Five stars; Book of the day)"These scenes are stunningly depicted ... deWitt writes beautifully about ugliness, and his book casts a haunting spell." --"Booklist" "DeWitt's style of prose is refreshing and more like real life speak than most books, without losing the necessary descriptiveness to relay the feel and pure nuttiness of the situation inside the Hollywood bar where the scenes are set." --"About.com""Ablutions is like an intense art-house movie, where the lead

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

deWitt, Patrick
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0151014981 Ships promptly from Texas. Bookseller Inventory # ETC4625JNGG052717H0445A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 12.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.86
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

deWitt, Patrick
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0151014981 . Bookseller Inventory # HCI5265MXGG041817H0822P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 12.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 3.86
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Patrick deWitt
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2009)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0151014981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 18.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 5.15
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

DeWitt, Patrick
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Boston/New York (2009)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Owlsnest Books
(Ooltewah, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Boston/New York, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Fine. First Edition - First Printing. 8vo - over 7?" - 9?" tall. First edition, first printing. Very fine and unread copy in a very fine dust jacket, now in a clear removable protective cover. Purchased new, never read. First book by the acclaimed author of "The Sisters Brothers". Not inscribed, price clipped, remaindered or otherwise marked. Bookseller Inventory # 010884

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 12.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 19.51
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

deWitt, Patrick
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2008)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. New York: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt [2008]. First edition. First printing. Hardbound. NEW/NEW. NOT price clipped. A pristine unread copy. This book was purchased new and never opened. With acid-free archival-quality mylar dust jacket protector. His first novel. His second novel, THE SISTERS BROTHERS, was short-listed for the Booker Prize. This copy is perfect. Shipped in a well padded box. Bookseller Inventory # Stacks-Fiction-75

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 17.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 16.69
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

DeWitt, Patrick
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, New York, USA (2009)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kelleher Rare Books
(Naas, Ireland)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, New York, USA, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First US Edition, First Printing. A first edition, first printing (first impression) with the number "1" to the copyright page to indicate a true first print. Signed by Patrick Dewitt to the title page. A collectors copy of the author's first book. Bookseller Inventory # 003128

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 22.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 12.21
From Ireland to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Patrick deWitt
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2009)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0151014981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 36.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 10.93
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

deWitt, Patrick
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2009)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110151014981

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 33.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 15.60
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Patrick DeWitt
Published by Houghtn Mifflin Harcourt (2009)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghtn Mifflin Harcourt, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition... New York: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt [2008]. First edition. First printing. Hardbound. NEW/NEW. A pristine unread copy. This book was purchased new and opened only for signing. With mylar dust jacket protector. His first novel. His second novel, THE SISTERS BROTHERS, was short-listed for the Booker Prize. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page, his name only, no other writing. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 0808pow-9

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 40.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 16.69
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Patrick deWitt
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (New York) (2009)
ISBN 10: 0151014981 ISBN 13: 9780151014989
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (New York), 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition. First printing. Hardcover. New/New. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. A pristine unread copy. Comes with mylar cover dust jacket. Purchased new and never opened except for author signing. He has signed his name only, with no other writing. Shipped in well padded box. Smoke-free shop. The talented author's debut novel, subtitled NOTES FOR A NOVEL, but of course it IS a novel. His first novel, about a bartender at a Hollywood watering hole and its down-and-out regulars, in the tradition of Bukowski and John Fante. "Dark and provocative. deWitt has painted a portrait of the human condition. And ABLUTIONS has achieved something remarkable." --The New York Times Book Review. The author's second novel, THE SISTERS BROTHERS, was short-listed for the 2011 Booker Prize. You cannot find a better copy. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 0409-1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
£ 44.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: £ 16.69
From U.S.A. to United Kingdom
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book