Jessica Spotswood Star Cursed

ISBN 13: 9780147509994

Star Cursed

4.13 avg rating
( 5,570 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780147509994: Star Cursed

A witchy, magical saga for fans of Beautiful Creatures and A Discovery of Witches

Cate Cahill left everything behind to keep her family safe. Now, with the Brotherhood and a reluctant Finn persecuting witches and women like never before, a divided Sisterhood looks to Cate for answers—answers that she doesn’t have. Then, when Cate’s friend Sachi is arrested for witchery, a formidable group of war-thirsty Sisters plan to destroy the Brotherhood from the inside, whether or not Cate is ready for battle.

Cate doesn’t want to be a weapon, and she doesn’t want to risk involving Finn in the Sisterhood’s schemes. But when her sisters Maura and Tess join the Sisterhood, Maura makes it clear that she’ll do whatever it takes to lead the witches to victory. Even if it means sacrifices. Even if it means overthrowing Cate. Even if it means all-out war.


In the highly anticipated sequel to Born Wicked, the Cahill Witch Chronicles continue Cate, Maura and Tess's quest to find love, protect family, and explore their magic against all odds in an alternate history of New England.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jessica Spotswood lives with her playwright husband and a cuddly cat named Monkey. She's never happier than when she's immersed in a good story, and swoony kissing scenes are her favorite. You can visit her at www.jessicaspotswood.com or follow her on Twitter @Jessica_shea.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 7 Up—New England in the 1890s is a perilous place to be female in this alternate history tale of witchcraft and romance. In this sequel to Born Wicked (Putnam, 2012), the Brotherhood cracks down further, forbidding women to work outside the home, and decreeing that girls will no longer be taught to read. The Cahill sisters-Cate, Maura, and Tess-talented witches reunited under the protection of the Sisterhood, are caught up in a power struggle that threatens them all. The smoldering rivalry between Cate and Maura ignites into divisive confrontations even as the Brotherhood's repression of girls and women increases: there is talk of bringing back the burnings. Eldest sibling Cate plays a dangerous game, happily reuniting with her betrothed, Finn, even while the Sisterhood endangers him by setting him to spy on the Brotherhood. This sequel doesn't have quite the drive of its predecessor; the opening is a little slow, and tension is diffused through repetitive confrontation that does not move the story forward. Still, there are enough stolen kisses to hold those with romance on their minds, and enough chase and escape to hold others. Cate spends a lot of time considering consequences, which, after a few hundred pages, seems an awful lot like fretting. The world-building creaks a little as Spotswood expands its borders but the center still holds. Characterization takes a backseat to plot. There are a number of undeveloped new characters, and already introduced characters show little growth, with Maura's development particularly one-note. Happily for fans of the first book, the big reveal at the conclusion is a genuine shocker, and readers will be anxious to discover if the final betrayal will move Cate to action.—Janice M. Del Negro, GSLIS Dominican University, River Forest, IL

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Spotswood, Jessica
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9780147509994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jessica Spotswood
Published by SPEAK, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SPEAK, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. A witchy, magical saga for fans of Beautiful Creatures and A Discovery of Witches Cate Cahill left everything behind to keep her family safe. Now, with the Brotherhood and a reluctant Finn persecuting witches and women like never before, a divided Sisterhood looks to Cate for answers answers that she doesn t have. Then, when Cate s friend Sachi is arrested for witchery, a formidable group of war-thirsty Sisters plan to destroy the Brotherhood from the inside, whether or not Cate is ready for battle. Cate doesn t want to be a weapon, and she doesn t want to risk involvingFinn in the Sisterhood s schemes. But when her sisters Maura and Tess join the Sisterhood, Maura makes it clear that she ll do whatever it takes to lead the witches to victory. Even if it means sacrifices. Even if it means overthrowing Cate. Even if it means all-out war. In the highly anticipated sequel to Born Wicked, the Cahill Witch Chronicles continue Cate, Maura and Tess s quest to find love, protect family, and explore their magic against all odds in an alternate history of New England. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780147509994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Spotswood, Jessica
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780147509994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.01
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jessica Spotswood
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0147509998

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jessica Spotswood
Published by SPEAK, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SPEAK, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. A witchy, magical saga for fans of Beautiful Creatures and A Discovery of Witches Cate Cahill left everything behind to keep her family safe. Now, with the Brotherhood and a reluctant Finn persecuting witches and women like never before, a divided Sisterhood looks to Cate for answers answers that she doesn t have. Then, when Cate s friend Sachi is arrested for witchery, a formidable group of war-thirsty Sisters plan to destroy the Brotherhood from the inside, whether or not Cate is ready for battle. Cate doesn t want to be a weapon, and she doesn t want to risk involvingFinn in the Sisterhood s schemes. But when her sisters Maura and Tess join the Sisterhood, Maura makes it clear that she ll do whatever it takes to lead the witches to victory. Even if it means sacrifices. Even if it means overthrowing Cate. Even if it means all-out war. In the highly anticipated sequel to Born Wicked, the Cahill Witch Chronicles continue Cate, Maura and Tess s quest to find love, protect family, and explore their magic against all odds in an alternate history of New England. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780147509994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Spotswood, Jessica
Published by Speak 4/10/2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Speak 4/10/2014, 2014. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. Star Cursed. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780147509994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Spotswood, Jessica
Published by Speak (2014)
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Paperback Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Speak, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0147509998

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Jessica Spotswood
Published by SPEAK, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SPEAK, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. A witchy, magical saga for fans of Beautiful Creatures and A Discovery of Witches Cate Cahill left everything behind to keep her family safe. Now, with the Brotherhood and a reluctant Finn persecuting witches and women like never before, a divided Sisterhood looks to Cate for answers answers that she doesn t have. Then, when Cate s friend Sachi is arrested for witchery, a formidable group of war-thirsty Sisters plan to destroy the Brotherhood from the inside, whether or not Cate is ready for battle. Cate doesn t want to be a weapon, and she doesn t want to risk involvingFinn in the Sisterhood s schemes. But when her sisters Maura and Tess join the Sisterhood, Maura makes it clear that she ll do whatever it takes to lead the witches to victory. Even if it means sacrifices. Even if it means overthrowing Cate. Even if it means all-out war. In the highly anticipated sequel to Born Wicked, the Cahill Witch Chronicles continue Cate, Maura and Tess s quest to find love, protect family, and explore their magic against all odds in an alternate history of New England. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780147509994

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jessica Spotswood
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
ReadWhiz
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780147509994_ing

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Spotswood, Jessica
Published by Speak
ISBN 10: 0147509998 ISBN 13: 9780147509994
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Speak. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0147509998. Bookseller Inventory # Z0147509998ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book