Piers Torday The Dark Wild (Last Wild)

ISBN 13: 9780147509666

The Dark Wild (Last Wild)

4.15 avg rating
( 336 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780147509666: The Dark Wild (Last Wild)

The sequel to The Last Wild, which The New York Post calls A whimsical yet thoughtful tale that brings to mind the smarts and silliness of Roald Dahl and Norton Juster.
Twelve-year-old Kester Jaynes thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realizes: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?"

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for The Last Wild series by Piers Torday
"A hugely inventive adventure."
Eoin Colfer, " New York Times" bestselling author of the Artemis Fowl series
A whimsical yet thoughtful tale that brings to mind the smarts and silliness of Roald Dahl and Norton Juster. "The New York Post"
* Alternately somber, thrilling, and silly, filled with eccentric human and animal characters with distinctive voices." "Publishers Weekly," starred review
Should have broad appeal. Recommend this book to readers who like the"Books of Ember"series by Jeanne DuPrau. "VOYA
"
An enchanted adventure with a message of empowerment and hope that ought to sweep readers along. "Booklist"
"A winning combination of science fiction and animal adventure: noble animals fighting for just causes reminiscent of Brian Jacques's "Redwall" series."--"School Library Journa"l
"When ninety-nine pigeons smash through the windows of Kester's prison and carry him North to the last of the animals . it's a moment as thrilling as when James flies off in the Giant Peach. Highly recommended"
"The Times"(UK)
Combines a great fondness for animals with an appreciation of the freakish . The reserved narrative tone and tender yet peculiar view of animals give this piece its own offbeat flavor. "Kirkus Reviews
"
"Splendid stuff." Eva Ibbotson"

Praise for The Last Wild series by Piers Torday
"A hugely inventive adventure."
Eoin Colfer, New York Times bestselling author of the Artemis Fowl series
A whimsical yet thoughtful tale that brings to mind the smarts and silliness of Roald Dahl and Norton Juster. The New York Post
* Alternately somber, thrilling, and silly, filled with eccentric human and animal characters with distinctive voices." Publishers Weekly, starred review
Should have broad appeal. Recommend this book to readers who like theBooks of Emberseries by Jeanne DuPrau. VOYA

An enchanted adventure with a message of empowerment and hope that ought to sweep readers along. Booklist
"A winning combination of science fiction and animal adventure: noble animals fighting for just causes reminiscent of Brian Jacques's "Redwall" series."--School Library Journal
"When ninety-nine pigeons smash through the windows of Kester's prison and carry him North to the last of the animals . it's a moment as thrilling as when James flies off in the Giant Peach. Highly recommended"
The Times(UK)
Combines a great fondness for animals with an appreciation of the freakish . The reserved narrative tone and tender yet peculiar view of animals give this piece its own offbeat flavor. Kirkus Reviews

"Splendid stuff." Eva Ibbotson"

Book Description:

WINNER OF THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE 2014. A thrilling animal adventure for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Katherine Rundell

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Piers Torday
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801475096660000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Torday, Piers
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY7SO002RGT

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.70
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.70
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Torday, Piers
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 23747115-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.04
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Piers Torday
Published by Puffin Books, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The sequel to The Last Wild, which The New York Post calls A whimsical yet thoughtful tale that brings to mind the smarts and silliness of Roald Dahl and Norton Juster. Twelve-year-old Kester Jaynes thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realizes: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780147509666

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Piers Torday
Published by Puffin Books, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. The sequel to The Last Wild, which The New York Post calls A whimsical yet thoughtful tale that brings to mind the smarts and silliness of Roald Dahl and Norton Juster. Twelve-year-old Kester Jaynes thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realizes: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?. Bookseller Inventory # AAC9780147509666

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

TORDAY, PIERS
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0147509661

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.71
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Torday, Piers
Published by Penguin Group USA (2016)
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group USA, 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # KB-9780147509666

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Piers Torday
Published by Puffin Books, United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Puffin Books, United States, 2016. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 196 x 130 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. The sequel to The Last Wild, which The New York Post calls A whimsical yet thoughtful tale that brings to mind the smarts and silliness of Roald Dahl and Norton Juster. Twelve-year-old Kester Jaynes thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realizes: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780147509666

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Torday, Piers
Published by Penguin Group USA (2016)
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Group USA, 2016. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780147509666

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Torday, Piers
ISBN 10: 0147509661 ISBN 13: 9780147509666
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9535158

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.09
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book