The Bankimchandra Omnibus: v. 1

4.01 avg rating
( 71 ratings by GoodReads )
9780144000555: The Bankimchandra Omnibus: v. 1

The first volume of this collector's edition brings together five of Bankimchandra's best-known works in English translation. Set in the Bengal of Emperor Jehangir's time, "Kapalkundala" tells the story of Nabakumar, a young woman named Kapalkundala whom he rescues from a tantric intent on human sacrifice, and the beautiful Lutfunnisa who has sold her heart on marrying him. In "Bishabriksha" (The Poison Tree), set in Bankimchandra's own time, Nagendra is torn between his devoted wife Suryamukhi and the bewitching young widow Kundanandini. Unable to prioritize either of the women he cares for, Nagendra ends up losing both. "Indira" is a lighthearted tale of playful intrigues: Upendra does not realize that his wife Indira is now working as a cook in his friend's house, and is given a royal run-around by Indira and Subhasini, her employer. "Krishnakanta's Will" is a tragedy of lust, infidelity, greed and death revolving around Govindalal, his wife Bhramar, the attractive widow Rohini, and a stolen will.

"Rajani", the story of a blind girl and two men, Sachindra and Amarnath, is a psychologically taut tale; it is the first Indian novel where characters narrate their stories in the first person.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Radha Chakravarti
ISBN 10: 0144000555 ISBN 13: 9780144000555
Used Quantity Available: 1
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # 97801440005553.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.19
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds