Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

3.63 avg rating
( 2,018 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780143127413: Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, a fundamentalist sect of ultra-Orthodox Judaism. As the daughter of an influential rabbi, Leah and her ten siblings were raised to worship two things: God and the men who ruled their world. But the tradition-bound future Leah envisioned for herself was cut short when, at sixteen, she was caught exchanging letters with a male friend, a violation of religious law that forbids contact between members of the opposite sex. Leah's parents were unforgiving. Afraid, in part, that her behavior would affect the marriage prospects of their other children, they put her on a plane and cut off ties. Cast out in New York City, without a father or husband tethering her to the Orthodox community, Leah was unprepared to navigate the freedoms of secular life. She spent the next few years using her sexuality as a way of attracting the male approval she had been conditioned to seek out as a child, while becoming increasingly unfaithful to the religious dogma of her past. Fast-paced, mesmerizing, and brutally honest, Cut Me Loose tells the story of one woman's harrowing struggle to define herself as an individual. Through Leah's eyes, we confront not only the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism, but also the broader issues that face even the most secular young women as they grapple with sexuality and identity.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Vincent, Leah
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801431274130000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Vincent, Leah
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 14
Seller
GIANTBOOKSALE
(HAUPPAUGE, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143127411 Great book !! Established seller with great ratings! A+ Customer Service! Orders ship from the USA!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0143127411ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
5.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.78
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Leah Vincent
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 203 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. An electrifying memoir about a young woman s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman s struggle to define herself as an individual. Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boy breaking a religious ban on contact between the sexes her family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm. It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780143127413

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Leah Vincent
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2015)
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. 203 x 135 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. An electrifying memoir about a young woman s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman s struggle to define herself as an individual. Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boy breaking a religious ban on contact between the sexes her family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm. It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity. Bookseller Inventory # ABZ9780143127413

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Vincent, Leah
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143127411

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.79
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Vincent, Leah
Published by PENGUIN GROUP (2015)
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
PBShop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description PENGUIN GROUP, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780143127413

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Vincent, Leah
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 8146638

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Vincent, Leah
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Movie Mars
(Indian Trail, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143127411 Brand New Book. Ships from the United States. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee!. Bookseller Inventory # 17400202

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Vincent, Leah
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143127411 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2121942599

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.18
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Vincent, Leah
Published by Penguin Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 0143127411 ISBN 13: 9780143127413
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143127411

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.38
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book