The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

4.33 avg rating
( 142,872 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143125471: The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary “The Boys of ‘36”

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Daniel James Brown’s The Boys in the Boat is the kind of nonfiction book that reads like a novel. Centered around the life of Joe Rantz—a farmboy from the Pacific Northwest who was literally abandoned as a child—and set during the Great Depression, The Boys in the Boat is a character-driven story with a natural crescendo that will have you racing to the finish. In 1936, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team raced its way to the Berlin Olympics for an opportunity to challenge the greatest in the world. How this team, largely composed of rowers from “foggy coastal villages, damp dairy farms, and smoky lumber towns all over the state,” managed to work together and sacrifice toward their goal of defeating Hitler’s feared racers is half the story. The other half is equally fascinating, as Brown seamlessly weaves in the story of crew itself. This is fast-paced and emotional nonfiction about determination, bonds built by teamwork, and what it takes to achieve glory. —Chris Schluep

About the Author:

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, The Indifferent Stars Above and Under a Flaming Sky, which was a finalist for a Barnes & Noble Discover Award. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University. He lives outside Seattle.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Pink Terrace Discoveries
(Windsor, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Mint!!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000037475

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Brown, Daniel James
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780143125471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Brown, Daniel James
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780143125471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Daniel James Brown
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143125478

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by U.S.A.: Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Soft cover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Wilmington Books & More
(Wilmington, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: Penguin Books, 2014. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. Get it in 3 days! We give Fast and reliable 3 day shipping from the US on all orders. Brand New, 100% Money Back Guarantee. Bookseller Inventory # ABE-14189930372

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Daniel James Brown
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of 36 For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man s personal quest. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780143125471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Daniel James Brown
Published by Penguin Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany and now the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of 36 For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man s personal quest. Bookseller Inventory # LIB9780143125471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books 5/27/2014 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback or Softback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books 5/27/2014, 2014. Paperback or Softback. Book Condition: New. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Book. Bookseller Inventory # BBS-9780143125471

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # 0143125478

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 1.51
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Brown, Daniel James
Published by Penguin Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 0143125478 ISBN 13: 9780143125471
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New!. Bookseller Inventory # 0143125478

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book