Redeemed: Stumbling Toward God, Sanity, and the Peace That Passes All Understanding

3.74 avg rating
( 247 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780143115069: Redeemed: Stumbling Toward God, Sanity, and the Peace That Passes All Understanding

After decades of living on the edge, Heather King settled into sobriety, marriage, and a financially lucrative but unfulfilling career as an upwardly mobile lawyer. As someone who had reached middle age "never believing in much of anything,"she found herself in the last place she thought she'd end up: the Catholic Church. An unforgettable, fervent, darkly funny tale of an ongoing, stumbling conversion, Redeemed will appeal to fans of Lauren Winner's Girl Meets God and Anne Lamott's writing. King's refreshing sense of humor, mesmerizing voice, and piercing honesty will touch readers whatever their beliefs.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

An attorney turned writer and Catholic convert, Heather King is a commentator for NPR’s All Things Considered and a communicant at St. Basil’s Church in Koreatown, Los Angeles. She is the author of the critically acclaimed memoir Parched, the story of her struggle with alcoholism. Her writing has appeared in, among other places, The Utne Reader, the Los Angeles Times Magazine, and the Best American Spiritual Writing anthologies. She lives in Los Angeles, California.

Review:

aThis memoir deserves to be as popular as Elizabeth Gilbertas . . . "Eat, Pray, Love,"a
a"The Boston Globe"
aAs honest and raw as the model of the spiritual memoir, the "Confessions, /I> of St. Augustine.a
a"Los Angeles Times"

"This memoir deserves to be as popular as Elizabeth Gilbert's . . . "Eat, Pray, Love"."
-"The Boston Globe"

"As honest and raw as the model of the spiritual memoir, the "Confessions, /I> of St. Augustine."
-"Los Angeles Times"

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

King, Heather
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Big River Books
(Powder Springs, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New! We ship daily Monday - Friday!. Bookseller Inventory # 1EY82M00BBOI

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
4.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.67
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

King, Heather
Published by Penguin Books (2009)
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # 161209058

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Heather King
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97801431150690000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

King, Heather
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2009. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VP-9780143115069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
6.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Heather King
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. After decades of living on the edge, Heather King settled into sobriety, marriage, and a financially lucrative but unfulfilling career as an upwardly mobile lawyer. As someone who had reached middle age never believing in much of anything, she found herself in the last place she thought she d end up: the Catholic Church. An unforgettable, fervent, darkly funny tale of an ongoing, stumbling conversion, Redeemed will appeal to fans of Lauren Winner s Girl Meets God and Anne Lamott s writing. King s refreshing sense of humor, mesmerizing voice, and piercing honesty will touch readers whatever their beliefs. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780143115069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
9.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

King, Heather (Author)
Published by Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Random House. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0143115065

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
7.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 2.68
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Heather King
Published by Penguin Putnam Inc, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Putnam Inc, United States, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. After decades of living on the edge, Heather King settled into sobriety, marriage, and a financially lucrative but unfulfilling career as an upwardly mobile lawyer. As someone who had reached middle age never believing in much of anything, she found herself in the last place she thought she d end up: the Catholic Church. An unforgettable, fervent, darkly funny tale of an ongoing, stumbling conversion, Redeemed will appeal to fans of Lauren Winner s Girl Meets God and Anne Lamott s writing. King s refreshing sense of humor, mesmerizing voice, and piercing honesty will touch readers whatever their beliefs. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780143115069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

King, Heather
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Softcover Quantity Available: 7
Seller
Sunshine Book Store
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. Book Condition: New. 0143115065 Brand New, Paperback, Choose Expedited shipping for GUARANTEED delivery within 4-5 business days. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days. We may not ship to PO Box, APO , FPO Address, please contact us. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # SO_9780143115069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
10.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

King, Heather
Published by Penguin Books
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0143115065 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132203632

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
8.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.05
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Heather King
Published by Penguin (Non-Classics)
ISBN 10: 0143115065 ISBN 13: 9780143115069
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin (Non-Classics). Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. 256 pages. Dimensions: 7.8in. x 5.3in. x 0.6in.After decades of living on the edge, Heather King settled into sobriety, marriage, and a financially lucrative but unfulfilling career as an upwardly mobile lawyer. As someone who had reached middle age never believing in much of anything, she found herself in the last place she thought shed end up: the Catholic Church. An unforgettable, fervent, darkly funny tale of an ongoing, stumbling conversion, Redeemed will appeal to fans of Lauren Winners Girl Meets God and Anne Lamotts writing. Kings refreshing sense of humor, mesmerizing voice, and piercing honesty will touch readers whatever their beliefs. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9780143115069

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
11.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: 3.02
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book